A short break from the usual blog entries...


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina
August 2nd 2010
Published: July 2nd 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: -34.5886, -58.4299

Hi...I will post my next proper blog entry very soon, but for the time being, I just need to post some info for friends back in the UK to explain how they can phone me. (Sorry for boring those of you who don't need or want to hear my dulcet tones!)

After a few awkward conversations in Spanish and a dodgy deal with that man in an overcoat, I finally managed to get a mobile phone sorted in Argentina. So there are two ways to phone me now:

Option 1: phoning my Skype number (this costs you the same as it would for you to call any
London landline, but the downside is that I need to be logged onto the internet when you call, otherwise you'll go to voicemail...plus the call quality is pretty up and down, depending on how good my internet connection is when you call!)

Option 2: phoning my mobile in Argentina (costs you more, but I'll be a bit more more likely to answer, plus the call quality should be a bit better). However, with option 2, don't just phone my mobile number from a standard landline or mobile in the UK, without first using a service like www.cheapestcalls.co.uk, otherwise it'll cost you a fortune. www.cheapestcalls.co.uk will give you an access number to phone (from your landline or mobile) before you dial my mobile number. I think, with www.cheapestcalls.co.uk, a call to my mobile from the UK should be around 4p a minute. With BT, it's closer to £2 a minute!

Christ, I sound like a bloody advert for www.cheapestcalls.co.uk! It's more that I want to sound like an anti-advert for BT!

If you don't have my Skype number and Argentinean mobile number, just call my normal UK mobile number and you'll hear them in the recorded message that I've left.

Blimey, what a lot of ramblings!

Right...now to start planning my next proper blog entry...


Advertisement



Tot: 0.048s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0191s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1016.4kb