Travel Feet


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina
December 5th 2009
Published: December 5th 2009
Edit Blog Post

So, I am starting to get my travel feet back, in more ways than one!

It took me a week to find my feet in a metaphorical sense, to adjust to living out of a backpack, to always asking and answering the same questions ("where are you from? where are you going?" etc), to get my sense of direction switched on and to just slow down, get rid of the London mentality of always having to be on time, to know where you are going and what you are doing, and just chill out and go with the flow. Dude.

And now, in Rosario, I am getting Traveller´s Foot. Kind of like Athlete´s Foot, but not as gross! Basically, I define Traveller´s Foot largely by getting tan lines from flip-flops. They are further emphasised by the odd mosquito bite here and there. And of course, just looking that little bit worse for wear. So, tan lines a-go-go, my travel feet are fitting in now!

So, while my feet are feeling at home with travel, I am coming round to that too. I have stopped missing cups of tea and my big cosy bed, and am getting used to café con leches and bunk beds! I am getting used to only having 4 pairs of shoes instead of the 30 pairs (most of which I never wear) in my wardrobe at home. And I am getting used to not having a plan. This really is the best way to travel. Just go with what you feel like, when you feel like, and how you feel like! I think that really is freedom I am not taking for granted, and am so happy I have created this for myself!

Advertisement



7th December 2009

Ah Kat reading your travel blog always makes me smile (and quietly seethe with jealously - only joking!) - glad the 'London' mentality is wearing off and you're going with the flow, that truly is awesome! xoxox
22nd February 2010

Travel feet
Hi Kat, I've just started reading through your blog but I'm really enjoying it so far. And this post is just so true! I'm pining for my flip flops at the moment and miss my foot tan lines. I also miss all of that hostel/traveller small talk, with how charming yet predictable it is. Sounds like you're having fun though and getting back into the swing of things. I'll keep reading and I'll probably find more to comment on. Glad you liked my blog too! Sarah xx

Tot: 0.253s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0631s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb