Iguassu Falls!


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Misiones » Puerto Iguazú
December 14th 2009
Published: December 14th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Hola Chicos y Chicas!

I am writing this nearly a week after spending 2 nights in Puerto Iguazú...apologies for the lateness of this update, it has been a very busy week!

So last Monday I left Rosario, which I was completely ready to do! Although my last day was great, I went to the beach with 2 Danish girls I met in my hostel but could not quite bring myself to swim in the river! After Agustina (really lovely girl on reception at my Rosario hostel) said she had lived in Rosario for her whole life and never once swam in the river because it looks so dirty, that put me off a little bit, but I thought I would see what the water looked like, being of the opinion that you need to make your own mind up about something like that! And I swam in the Nile in Egypt after everyone on my tour told me I would get some hideous skin infection and would probably die in a Cairo hospital, and I am still here! So, we went to the beach by ferry, and I think it may have been because it was raining for a couple of days before, but the water was brown and had lots of green weed things floating around. It just didn´t look appealing! And a whole day of sun-worshipping and reading and talking about boys really wasn´t such a hardship!

So, I got a bus to Santa Fé to meet Sarah, a girl I met in Rosario, and we got another bus up to Puerto Iguazú (15 hours!) which, although a very long journey, was so comfortable! The buses in Argentina are like no other buses I have experienced! The beds are like what you get when you fly first class, well, what I imagine first class is! And you get meals, alcohol (champagne!), films, and a nice man comes around with a bad of sweeties during the journey! Amazing!

On arriving in Puerto Iguazú, we dumped our bags at our hostel and booked a trip to Brazil for the afternoon to see the Falls from that side. And it was stunning. I can honestly say I have never experienced anything like it before! Going to the Brazilian side was a great thing to do before going to Argentina, as it gives you a great panoramic view of the Falls (and you get another sneaky stamp in your passport!). It was so unbelievably hot though! I was sweating in places I didn´t know it was possible to sweat so much! Who knew elbows and shins sweated so badly?

That night we were so tired, so we had some pizza and beer and went to bed! The next day we went to the Argentinian side, which was amazing! Got right up close to the Falls, which basically means we got drenched! I will put some photos up on Facebook when I have the chance so you can see for yourself. It is all very well me trying to describe the Falls in words, but it would just be ´beautiful´ ´breathtaking´and all the other terms you can find if you look these up in a Thesaurus!

That night, Sarah got a bus to Buenos Aires, and I was going solo again! But it was ok, we had met a girl called Lily that we went to the Falls with, so we went for some wine in Puerto Iguazú (drinking seems to be the only thing to do there!), which we realised probably wasn´t the best thing to do after being in the sun all day...

Anyway, the following day I got my bus to Córdoba (22 hours!) - there was a huge thunderstorm for the entire overnight journey, which was immensely scary as the bus really seemed to be going quite fast! So, Córdoba is where I am now and I arrived safely! And my Córdoba installment will be coming up soon I guess!

Sending much love home...xxx

Advertisement



Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0483s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb