Ushuaia...la fin del Mundo...welcome to Feb 2008!


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Tierra del Fuego » Ushuaia
February 3rd 2008
Published: February 3rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

The last two weeks have been crazy in Shanghai. First the mini-crash on the world stockmarkets, doesn't
make life easy, but it's just a good time to buy more...so more work...and the second, the snow. It's the
first time in 25 years that snow hit China so hard. Not the best time for me, but manage to get out
properly of Shanghai on due time.

It's also one great year to celebrate, as Leslie has now been with me for a full year...what a year of
happiness and discovery! On Wednesday evening, he took his first flight on his own. Little stress but not
too much, after all he is already platinium on American Airlines and gold on Thai...we love the world!

So welcome to one of the most impressive month of my life. Some dream, some wish...I'm just going to enjoy
February 2008! Took me few months to prepare this trip, as most of it has had to be book months back to
get the chance to do it.

First, flying, a lot of it, and I know, it needs to be offset! Shanghai-Hong Kong-LAX-Santiago-Ushuaia. How
do you deal with this straight on...easy...a shower and a lot of champagne at every stop, and you sleep
as much as you can while in a plane!

The flight from Santiago to Ushuaia has been one of the most amazing I ever did. Great, impressive views
for 3 hours in a row...so magnificient. The plane went straight over the Llao Llao in Bariloche. For those
who don't know the place, I was there 13 months ago, and this is one of the most amazing place (hotel) in
the world. Have been there twice, will be back soon...when I find some time to bring the kids for more skiing!
Than we went straight over the Perito Moreno Glacier! Impressive...and the word is weak, but the picture is
just not good enough to put it here...it's in my head...forever!

So here I am, Ushuaia the end of the world, and the door to my last continent...Antartica...but for that
you will need to wait the 12th Feb. At the time you'll be reading this, I may be right in the middle of
the Drake Passage...if I survive!

Ushuaia, border town, world capital of the Centolla, Antartica King Crab. So yes the city is not beautiful.
And yes the food is already incredible. Stay in the best place in town, see the view from my room...it's
just make me want to go on the boat...just have to be patient...coming very very soon! So dreams, I plan and
do it!

For the moment, it's walking around, and lot's of great food, seafood, argentinian steak (was pretty average one...)
,lamb asado, the all lot with a all lot of great wine!

And before the boat, last stop is the Tierra del Fuego National Park. You can see the weather on the pictures...for
your info they have 25 days of sunshine per year...guess I'm used to it.

The all thing was so...beautiful...but that you can see by yourself. I'm now having my last glass of wine from
la fin del Mundo. No email or phone for 10 days, let's hope nothing special will happen, because there is not
much I'll be able to do.

So be ready for an amazing entry...in 10 days. Till there, Happy New Year of the Rat...don't know which
surpises it will bring, but now it will be an amazing travelling year.

Have fun! I do!


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement



Tot: 0.043s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0217s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb