Negative Ions....


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Misiones » Puerto Iguazú
October 25th 2007
Published: October 25th 2007
Edit Blog Post

So, apparently, there is this urban legend theory that says that negative ions, which can be generated by waterfalls, make people happy. The legend is myth, but I´m happy to say, the falls of Iguazu National Park are truly spectacular.

What´s more, the wildlife of the park was up front and amazing. I´m sure that to a certain degree, to a local, not all of the things I saw were that great. For example, the coatis, which are little pig/racoon items, were amazing and interesting to me. However, since they were to be found often in eating areas and garbage cans, I´m sure locals think of them more like overgrown squirrels than anything else. I was most excited about being lucky enough to run into a Brown capuchin troop. It looked like a nice healthy troop of about 30 individuals. Many of the females had babies, although it must be late in the season as most of the kids were quite large. There are the very same monkeys we have at home in the lab!!! However these ones looked slightly different: they were smaller and much darker. But looking up the species, I did indeed have the right ones... so
At the end of every rainbow...At the end of every rainbow...At the end of every rainbow...

this is but one of the many many falls at Iguazu Falls. The stats: I guess Iguazu falls is less than half the length of Niagra, but twenty meters taller. I´ve never seen Niagra...but no I sort of want to. Regardless, these are some of the most impressive falls in the world.
I guess its all regional variation.

This town is quite adorable and cute, but I spent so much time getting up here, I´m happy to leave right away. Tomorrow I´m on a buss for resistencia... a town famous for its over 300 public statues.

A small note about curious going-on-ings .... theft of objects is a problem in dorms, but I keep my stuff locked up and its not much of a problem for me. There are, however, a few objects which are difficult to keep stored at all times, namely, my towel, soap, shampoo, and tooth brush, because damp stored objects become yucky objects. Because of this, I hang these things out. In the course of my trip I have had a few of thes object stolen: one my shampoo, which I consider a reasonable steal.... BUT TWICE MY SOAP! which I can´t believe at all. Do you KNOW where my soap has been? It is, above all, the cheapest and most easily found of all of these objects. I had to buy new soap again today. It cost me about 30 cents.
WHY?
I leave you all to ponder this troubling question.

love
Kelly


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



26th October 2007

great falls
hi i have been scaning the south america bloggs for advise, i am planning a trip in jan and so far all i know is i want it to finish in Rio for the carnival! your bloggs have been really interesting and given me points i wanna see! So the public/tourist transport system is ok? and the soap...... i was traveling for a year, 6 months through S.E asia and the ONLY thig that was stollen yep my soap! i have no idea! keep enjoying, ill keep reading. Kaz
27th October 2007

Niagara
I went to Niagara with Zach over Labor day - they are incredible falls. One thing I learned was that they actually fall north from the US into Canada on their way to the ocean, rather than the other way around. I was very turned around the entire time!
29th October 2007

SOAP!
You got your soap stolen as well? Wow... I was convinced I was just nutty. Yes, the public transportation system seems very safe. Well, that is in regards to trans-city, not within city, systems. The buses are amazing actually, like first class on an airplane. Some have meals (which are a bit disgusting). Prices are much higher than that printed in Loney Planet on a shoestring... just FYI. I spent about $80 getting to and from Iguazu. In fact, when you get here, you´ll hear lots about hitchhiking. I´m not going to be doing that at all, but I think its a testiment to the safty of travel in Argentina. From what I´ve been hearing, Chile is also as safe, but in Bolivia, Peru, and other countries, you should be more careful. Don´t travel at night. Thanks for tuning in! I hope I can keep in entertaining...

Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0502s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb