sunday all day festa


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Córdoba
February 1st 2006
Published: February 1st 2006
Edit Blog Post

Well I think my last entry was on Saturday. I was not feeling so great so I went to the mall to get a present for the Birthday party that night. There is aircon there. Brought Just chocolates, but it was still appreciated.

That night after a nap, yes a cesta we headed out for the evening. The party was a small dinner sort of gathering that only involved a very few people. The party was at Suzanna{s apartment in Neavo Cordoda. It was a pretty nice place and had about as much room as my house does. the evalator only went to one floor with one door. The appartment was the whole floor of this building. Acoording to suzanna each floor had a theme, strange but true her appartment was the Asian edition. It had three bed rooms three bathrooms a large kitchen, dining room, living room, and a eatting area of the kitchen with an outdoor area. Her daughter lived there with her, and that night she had her two year grandson. HEwas from another daughter who was not there. He was a going through his terrible twos. Everytime I looked in the living room another thing was being thrown onto the floor.
The evening was pretty low key and mostly involved talking and eating, and Champaige toast. ect.

The following day it was unbeliveably hot. Getting the invite to Lorenzos house was a great invitation. We arrived there around 11:00 and left around 11:00. I think it may have been the longest party I ever went to . I think I told you all how nice his house is. The same group of people were there as before but Suzannas daughter joined us later. In the early afternoon we ate lunch, some of which I was responsible for. Since the salads in this country really suck, I decided I would make a salad for lunch and Lorenzo made sandwiches. I brought the ingritents at the market and in truth some of them were sort of expense by Argentine standards. Which may be why they don{t make them the same way, I do. I made a dressing that was not the standard corn oil and White vinegar. I also put in lots of different things like blue cheese and made a honey mustard dressing. When I was making it I was getting the strangest looks. But it was nice to be in a kitchen making food again. Yes, true story I do like cooking.

Well when it was time to eat it everyone looked it and was amazed. Now I am the salad goddess of Argentina. It was funny because as limited as my spanish is every time someone arrived the first thing they would talk about was the salad Rebecca made. I could tell it was a hit because none of it was left.

It was interesting because even though only Lorenzo lived there at this time. Some of the guests went to the bedrooms to sleep. It seemed as if this is just accepted make yourself at home. Lorenzo, Beba, and I however, made full use of the pool, which given the day was wonderful. We read relaxed and basically it was like a family gathering without the family.


It was nice to sort get out of the city somewhat. Later in teh evening the Loco Teto made dinner and pasta dish. It seems to be his sunday afternoon job which he takes get pride in. I spend most of the time listening to a lot of words I could not understand. Getting maybe five words from a long winded conversation, thinking I knew what was going on. Lorenzo does know some english and When Suzannas duaghter arrived I was able to talk to her. Her english is pretty good. She was interested in what I did for work and I told her. She said they could really use someone like me here. I could not argee more however, with no laws on the books the enforcement would be sort of Moot. She said that they take things to the Hague courts to be settled and now they are having some issues with a paper mill in Urgurgy. We ended up returning home around 11:00.

AS the "work week " continued, the class gained three new students which was good. We are all about at the same level. One is a guy from Texas who needs the spansih for medical school, one is a girl from Alaska who is dying with this heat, and the last one is an older man from Norway excaping the the dark north. But then again I think both the alaskan and the guy from Norway have the same inda. And I thought I have it bad in Oregon. We have been working on the le, lo, les, los, and you add a "so" if needed. It is very confusing and it all gets rearranged and your supose to be able to keep things like, who is saying what about what and whom. Thankfully I think all of us are lost equally. Than add to this the fact all the directions are in spanish. I wonder if the teacher thinks the stupid look on my face is part of my outfit. But I think the other students dressed the same today. Maybe some have better poker faces then I do.

Since the heat has been nuts I have been taking to swimming in the pool there. However, I try to make sure not to get water in my ears, infections would be inevitable. I spend my evenings at Bebas house. Dinner is usually late around 9 at the earlest. Most nights someone comes by like her youngs neices kids. Last night Lorndzo came over and he made a pizza and we all had an interesting conversation about me buying property here. Life and the way things work in the states. There is a lot involved but the banking or lack of plays into. a lot. I will go into some detail on that later. However, Bebas may put me in contact with someone she knows who sells real estate, so we{ll see I hope to get out to see the houses in la Cumbre however, it may be more of a headache than it is worth given the distance from town but I am open to look. But given what I have heard dealing with her friend is the way to go.

Well I am off to get the photos put on a disc. so Hopefully I can post them. This weekend we will be doing the horse riding trip that was canceled last weekend. So all of the best and I will try to send some sun shine and warm weather in the direction of Portland. Rebecca

Advertisement



Tot: 0.114s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0633s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb