It is hot here!


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Córdoba
January 28th 2006
Published: January 28th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Well Sorry another entry without photos I need to take the camera to the store and get a disc made in order to do it but I will at some point than I will need to figure out how to do the it on this site. But on to more important things, Life here.

I left off on wednesday night. I went to a party at the School{s house. One of the brazilian student{s was having a birthday party. It was a nice time. One of the employees at the school brought over his sound system. The appartments tape player was broken so there was no music and you can{t have a party here without music. One of the rules. Before he arrive all of the studnet were talking and it was nice to hear about other people adventures and Experiences. Most of the conversations however. were in english. There were so many different countries represented and for the most part english is the common langage. The spanish is work in progress and most people can not express thoughts to any depth in spanish. Most of the students are just learning past tense and more are still on present tense so it makes it different to speak about most of anything in spanish.

When Algusto arrived with the music the party changed and there was alot of dancing mostly to salsa. I guess it is a way of commicating that is not so much work. I spent most of the evening speaking to a guy from Germany who will be working at the school who just arrived. He was good natured and I was in a mood to joke around. He was able to understand my sarasm which was fun. I also spent time speaking with chrarline from scotland who in my class and the other engish girl who is in my class, Jenifer. She is an art student, so we talked about our favorite strange artists. She has since changed classes because she seems to have problems getting up in the morning and making it to class. Too many late night parties. The other person I like speaking with is a girl from Brazil, Precisla. She is only 19 but she seems very wise and well edcated beyond her years. A very bright girl and Interesting to talk to.

I sort of felt as if I was in a time warp. Like I had gone back to college. Most of the students are this age maybe a little older, and I was hearing about all the soap operas of who is sleeping with whom, who likes who. As for several of them I can{t figure Who is connected to whom. The brazialian guy{s for the most part are very gooding looking and so are the women, so who knows. they also always seem to be with someone else. I think that they also tend to like the different women who are from Germany and the states. However, I do know that most of teh girls form the states have boyfriends in the states. The ones from the states hang out with them but you can tell the sitatuion is not so involved. I left early at 1;00 the party continued on until 3:00.

The next day Class was frustrating. It was filled with writing and fill in the blank crap where it Was difficult to understand the thinking process. I left the class in a terrible mood. That afternoon I arranged for a trip with an english women to Atra Grasas. It is where Che Ghevva}s house is. We also visited and lake there as well, ad a few road side shirines to local legions.
The tour operator was really nice and we were able to have some very intersting conversations. He was aroiund our age, and since the women was from England she wanted to know what the Argentines thought of the English partically after the Falkland Island war. It was interesting to hear both of their menories of the experiences as children from two sides of the fence. Basically the feeling now it is behind them and most of the competions between the counties seems to be focused on sports now.

The Che chavaa house was interesting it was like going to someones house and just droppping by. The museun was interesting and I just it was the one places that he spent most of his time in one place. It was sort of like those George Washington slept here museuns in the states. Since most of his other effiorts involved traveling around and frighting. They said this place was his influence however. My thinking is that it was just a way of getting people to come to the musuem. They had lots of photos mostly of him playing as a child dressed up as an indian.

On Friday the classes went much better we focused on speaking to each other about life and day to day things. I was making some progress and did not feel so stupid. After class The brazilians decided they would have an inpromtu party. We all pitched in and we brought some meat and beers, wine and people returned to the school in bathing suits. There is a pool there. And it is so dang hot here The weekend is suppose to be worst. It was about 90F. The party was great fun and the pool was wonderful. It was a good time and for the most part all of the students were there.

I lefted around 5:00 because I was of feeling that great slept a bit so that I could meet up with some of the student{s for a tango dancing show. I was going to go horse back riding with Carline ( the scothish girl ) but the tour operator got sick and had to cancel. So I am here in Cordoba this weekend. The tango show was as most things here running late, and a bit different then it was described. We met there and went to a place on the square for dinner and returned there later. Only to find out that the tango dancers were not going to be arriving but the locals used the music the dance, and it was fun to watch regular humans dance. Some of them were really good Almost all of them were very serious. An old man asked chaline to dance, she gracefully declined. I spend most of the evening talking to Precilla from Brazil. It was funny we wanted to buy a glass of wine they told us they would only sell us a bottle. We asked how much it cost and it was $2.25 for the whole bottle. Naturally we bought it and it was surprizlingly good. It was about 1:00 am and she wanted me to go to a dancing club with her. I ended up heading home instead I was really not feeling all that well. I may take dance lessons at a health club here they are cheap and some of the classmates are doing it and really like it.

Well This is the lastest and greatest the rest of the weekend I have plans with Beba , Lorenzo and the Loco Teto. Tonight I have been invited to Suzannas bithday party. A friend of Bebas. On Sunday we are going out to Lorenzos house again in the afternoon to swim and BBQ. I plan to make a salad. The meat here is good but the salads lack imagination so we{ll see how my salad making goes. Well I am off into the heat of the day Rebecca









Advertisement



Tot: 0.084s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0423s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb