Tigre and the Delta area plus San Isidro


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Buenos Aires » Tigre
July 30th 2008
Published: August 2nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Finally with my studies all over and done it was time to travel for my remaining days here in South America…If you asked me now, I would tell you rite now im at a stage where I feel like this is my place and I actually feel like I live here and in a way im sort of really sad to be leaving very soon….i mean literally I know the streets of Buenos Aires inside out now..know the customs and at times even began using the slang here when getting around so travellin to other places didn’t seem that daunting anymore…

Becuz I was also at a stage where my budget is goin to break any min now…I decided to go and visit Tigre and the Delta area and San Isidro the cheap way and Im talking about the type of way not even a local would do and if u were to follow or read any travel guide, it would advice the dangerous and poor working class slump way of travelling..by travellin in a cheap literally slow, near broken highly crime alert train which for a good return ticket only cost around 0.70 cents Australian dollars…now that shud speak volumes about the other 30-50australian dollars option of getting a coach bus…

I needed the ‘into the wild” experience..must admit halfway thru the ride the ppl startin lookin more and more suss and literally it was like buyin a ticket to getttin mugged the places all started to look very criminal active areas…but for some reason it was the type of adventure I was seeking!!! To be honest it wasn’t that bad…u jus needed to be a bit street smart but it was defntly humbling!!

So finally when I got to Tigre and the Delta area I was a little bit disappointed to find that walking two blocks from the station was a very active touristy area where everyone I guess come to visit and ride the boats…..having walked around and taking pics of the place and visiting the local theme park…I decided to get back on the train and move on to the next to do list San Isidro!!!

Arriving at San Isidro was an experience.... train stop was very hardcore and very nice at the same time…like on the one hand it was very residential and looked very safe but at the same time it was contrasted n really juxtaposed with images of that of poverty and streets covered with slump. All in all having walked around n getting close to around nite time i decided to move on and finally stopp’d at the River plate stadium (again) to give it another visit and see if I could get in…however, I was told to come back tomorrow becuz, apparently river plate is considered to be the national stadium and they don’t just let anyone in to visit the stadium and that set dates and times are there for guided tours… So tomorrow it will be for Club de River Plate!!!



Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement



Tot: 0.085s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 51; dbt: 0.05s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb