Let's take some classes


Advertisement
Published: July 8th 2015
Edit Blog Post

Well, we are in Buenos Aires to take classes. I suppose, unfortunately, that will require some classroom time. One benefit of winter is that I don't feel as guilty about it: last year I kept dreaming of being outside and enjoying the weather while I could when we were in meetings and lectures, but here I find myself yearning to be out and about less. Of course, we do also have less daylight and less heat, so there's that.

My Spanish class does seem as though it will be fun and interesting, though. There's four of us: me, a pair of girls similarly skilled at Spanish, and another guy whose parents are Colombian but who speaks English at home. It's hard to place his skill in comparison, but I definitely think all four of us are at a similar - and the correct - level (the 4th of 5; none of us are fluent, but all are proficient). The four hours (really three with breaks) actually went by quite quickly. Exercises and practice took up most of today and I expect this week (we have Thursday off for Independence Day; stay posted for that one), but next week I'd imagine
Sunset in PalermoSunset in PalermoSunset in Palermo

Unfiltered, unedited!
more learning new stuff.

After class, we went and got empanadas and pizza - continuing my daily empanada streak - then came back for a lecture on Argentine history. The lecture didn't actually happen, so instead we were brought to a mall that seemed like it used to be a museum, perhaps. Or possibly just a gorgeous mall. I'm unsure. But there were beautiful murals on the walls and ceiling, reminiscent of Cathedral domes. Also there was ice cream, which is important. On that note, websites proclaim the beauty of Argentine gelato - perhaps I'm biased because I was recently in Italy, but they're overrating it.

In the evening, a group of 6 of us traveled up to Palermo - a very interesting area. In the span of a block it can go from Detroit to Beacon Hill. We ended up at a café in a very nice area, where we sat and talked for hours, before I headed home for dinner around 9:00...so pretty much a normal time for me and family.

Of course, since it's Buenos Aires and night life is huge here, a big group headed out at about 12:30 to go clubbing. As I tend to be...unpleasant...when I don't get enough sleep, I instead opted to go out with a couple friends to a local bar for drinks and catch a bit more than 2 hours of sleep. Of course, given my luck and the way we all like to talk on and on, we'll see how that goes...


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Dog getting blowdriedDog getting blowdried
Dog getting blowdried

Need I justify adding the picture?


Tot: 0.236s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0755s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb