Keep the frisbee rolling


Advertisement
Published: July 8th 2015
Edit Blog Post

Practice makes perfect. Or permanent, depending on who you ask. Regardless, 3 hours of practice a day for 3 weeks should do the trick.

We added a fifth member to our class today. We'll see how he's there; although he's very nice, I feel like he may be able to learn and thrive better a level down. But at the same time, I like having another classmate. I feel like four is just that tiny bit too small but five is good. Of course, when one of the other four doesn't show up because he drank away all his money the night before, having a replacement is also good. Not that that's necessarily something that happened, I'm just saying that I'm glad I didn't go to the club last night, and I'll leave it there.

After more classes, I went back to the same empanada place as yesterday. I'm going for a week straight of daily empanadas. 4/7 of the way there. So worth it.

This afternoon, we had a nice lecture on the early history of Argentina - the 1800s and early 1900s, up to Perón's first time in office. Tomorrow we will cover the latter have of the 1900s, which, as those of you familiar with it know, may take more than an afternoon.

Today was beautiful and warm - I can't believe I'm saying that about a winter day when I was in 80 degree weather a week ago - so a couple of us went to a park near where I live in Recoleta to throw around a frisbee. I was, in fact, in shorts and a t-shirt, a choice about which I have no issue, because it was, in fact, kinda warm. We played for a bit - one of the girls is on the Northeastern Ultimate team, and needed some practice with a few techniques, so it was fun to help her out - before heading to another café for tea and, yes, another empanada. They're small, so it's justifiable. Kind of like eating a handful of chocolate chips at night.

A dinner of broccoli tart and my fifth empanada of the day, a fruit salad, and an internet reset later, and I'm here writing this blog. I fully plan on passing out within the hour, as my sleep has been limited the past few weeks, and we may be going out tomorrow night, as Thursday, as I mentioned in my last post, is Independence Day. Much like America, we have it off here. We'll see if the rest of it is like America too. If nothing else, Argentina is known for their steak.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.247s; Tpl: 0.021s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.2103s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb