Time Flies when you are in BsAs


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Buenos Aires » Buenos Aires
February 7th 2011
Published: February 9th 2011
Edit Blog Post

El AteneoEl AteneoEl Ateneo

Beautiful Bookstore in an old theatre
Hola a todos!!!!

I have now been living in Buenos Aires for a month!! Wow it flew by!! I am officially certified to teach English now and will soon begin looking for jobs! I am waiting until I travel around the country a bit with my bestest friend Heide who is coming to visit on February 18th. We plan on going to Igazu Falls and Bariloche (northern patagonia).
Today I spent the day walking around and seeing some more of the sights. I went to see Congresso, Plaza de Mayo, La Casa Rosada, and then sat down in a cafe and read for a while. It was very relaxing and nice to enjoy my time rather than sitting in a classroom all day. I also recently went to El ateneo which is a beautiful bookstore that is in an old theatre. To celebrate finishing the TEFL course I went to dinner at a middle eastern restaurant called Sarkis with my friends from the course, it was delicious and a much needed treat. This past weekend I also went to Chinatown to celebrate the Chinese New Years, but after not being able to move for 5 minutes because the street was so packed with people we cut our celebration short after a few photos.
I am really beginning to like Buenos Aires and have made several good friends. I have found several nice parks to run in and get away from the city for a bit. I think I will enjoy my time here!!
A few odd/funny things have happened recently. A couple of my girlfriends and I were sitting outside a cafe having a drink and a man came up to us, gave us a loaf of bread and then walked away. It was rather odd and we decided it was probably best to not eat the bread based on the fact that they man smelled like he had been wading through sewage.
I was also asked out on a date by one of my students from my teaching practices (34, argentine, Jorge). He waited outside the class building for an hour in order to talk to me. After talking to him and giving him my email (I am not interested and therefore opted to not give him my phone number), my teacher (a 57 year old Norwegian named Jon) told me I had to marry Jorge right away because he is gorgeous. Unfortunately, I am not interested, but didn't have the heart to shut him down immediately, hence the email address. The next day I received an email from Jorge that said "What happened the first time Jorge saw you? And what happened when our eyes first met." Haha not exactly the email I was expecting, I still don't know exactly what it is supposed to mean, but it seems the Argentine men expect every girl to immediately fall for them. I have to be extra careful because as my dad made sure to tell me before I left "Just don't you date a latino gigalo." Wise words I must say. 😊
I hope everyone is wonderful. More pics to come soon!! Tomorrow I am going to the parks and the port!
Besos xx




Additional photos below
Photos: 23, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Club MClub M
Club M

A random club we went to after dinner with live music
AnchorenaAnchorena
Anchorena

The street I live on
Protests in Plaza de MayoProtests in Plaza de Mayo
Protests in Plaza de Mayo

There is continual protest of the Malvinas War (aka Falkland Islands) and the dirty war
Casa RosadaCasa Rosada
Casa Rosada

The old residence of the Argentine presidents, now a museum. This is the building with the famous balcony where Evita and Juan Peron spoke to the people


9th February 2011

2nd blog
Did you save some of that dessert for Me?? It's great your able to live the Argentine experience and make so many new friends, that's a gift you have. I miss and love you. Dad
10th February 2011

I am glad you are getting to site see> what a great time in your life. Enjoy the culture. I will anxiously await all blogs and photos. luv u, auntie, mady
23rd February 2011

hey!
Mel, I'm sorry that this is the first time I have checked my email. However, it sounds like you are having an amazing time! Can't wait to hear about more updates! The pictures are awesome and so are you. -Ali
3rd March 2011
Lisa enjoying the dessert

dessert
wow! looks yummy!

Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0316s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb