First Two Weeks in BA


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Buenos Aires » Buenos Aires
January 23rd 2011
Published: January 23rd 2011
Edit Blog Post

Roof TerraceRoof TerraceRoof Terrace

The Road House Terrace
Hola!!!
I have now been in Buenos Aires for two weeks!!! It seems like the time has flown by! I am living in an area called Recoleta in a student residence called The Road House. The Road House is an interesting place. Right now there are a total of 14 people living here. It has been really fun and really tiring. Nighttime can get pretty interesting in The Road House when everyone wants to cook their dinner at once (we only have one stove), but the best nights have been when we have all cooked together. We have a great terrace where I had spent a lot of my time and is a perfect place to sit at night.
While I love living in the Road House, it makes it difficult to want to study. I am half way through a course to get certified to teach English, it is very intensive and I feel like the majority of my time in Buenos Aires has been spent studying or writing lesson plans. So far, I have taught 4 English classes to Argentine students. The first class was terrifying but i am slowly beginning to improve! Due to all this class work, I have only seen a few parts of Buenos Aires but hopefully soon will explore more! Last monday I went to a great concert for La Bomba de tiempo; they are a percussion group that improvises their concerts based on over 100 hand signs. It was incredible and held in an outdoor concert venue with a couple thousand people attending. (I'm sure there are videos of the group on YouTube if you are interested). I have also been to a few of the night clubs here, which open around 2-3am and close at 7am. Heading home from the club when the sun is coming up is an interesting experience.
In the Road House we have a very interesting mix of people: (Here's an example of some of the diff. personalities)
Walter and Josh: two 19 year old British boys who want to party ALL the time
James: a 25 year old Brit who is also taking the TEFL course with me. He is hilarious and very opinionated.
Joyce: my roomate from Taiwan who is here volunterring
Camilia: Sophomore from Colorado College who unfortunately already left. She was the party planner and has an amazing personality.
Andrea: 32 year old from Slovakia who is also taking the TEFL course and like me spends most of her time doing work for the class.
Kevin: an incredibly nice guy who is working at an orphanage for a month in BA
Ricardo: an extremely loud italian who loves to sing (several times I have had to hang up skype because I can't hear over his talking)
Then there are a few people who prefer to keep to themselves but everyone here is really nice.

So far I have loved my time in Buenos Aires, but soon I have to find somewhere to live and a job!!! I hope everyone is doing great. Miss and Love you all!! Thanks for reading.
<3 Mel xoxox


Additional photos below
Photos: 23, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Photo 6Photo 6
Photo 6

Making fun of someone as usual
TonyTony
Tony

Tony is also taking the TEFL class with me but lives elsewhere
The group on the terraceThe group on the terrace
The group on the terrace

Josh, Walter, James, Kevin, Greg, Camilia, Joyce and I
Roomies!!Roomies!!
Roomies!!

Joyce and I


24th January 2011
Photo 24

Fun
Looks like a great group. I hope your having the time of your life. I loved Argentina and have fond memories. luv u
25th January 2011

Group of people
Melanie, Loved your pictures. Looks like a great group of people. I'm always amazed at who shows up . Reminds me of my days in the parks when on a normal day I'd meet people from all over the world each with an fun and interesting story. Love you, keep working hard and having fun. Dad
8th February 2011

Hi Mel! So great to reach about your experience so far. Sounds like you're loving it! What a great thing to do.... Keep us posted! Pat Antonucci

Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 5; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0334s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb