Bienvenido a Buenos Aires


Advertisement
Published: June 11th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Buenos Aires - a trip to a "late"-world where "el banco" closes at 3pm



Saturday, June 6th, roughly 8 hours till I leave for the airport:
All of the sudden the suitcase seems to be to small for all the stuff I want to take along! While my dad is buying another one and my mom is preparing a lunch package for the flight, I'm starting to realize that somebody must be travelling to somewhere for quite some time....oh yeah right, that's me...
So after the last family starbucks meeting at Frankfurt airport my plane leaves almost perfectly on time. Everyone has their own little TV-screen to watch whatever they like...sweet! ...if it would actually work. There were approx. 550 screens and circa 10 weren't working...now take a guess where I was sitting:D
Well, at least nobody would destract me from learning Spanish...besides el señor "sleep" and a stewardess who mistook me for a pale Latin-American and kept on talking Portugese to me...
Finally in Sao Paulo, off the airplane, through securitycheck where again they tried talking Portugese to me...
The info-screen read: flight at 8:30 - my flight - was appearantly now going to Santiago and every flight to Bs As that day was cancelled. Sounds like a good start to an interesting adventure.
So I decided to try speaking Spanish and asked the next person who was looking as confused as I was ¿Vas a Bs. As. tambien?.
Maria - an Argentinian who lives in Sweden and ran Marathon in Berlin - helped me out and even paid for my first Brasilian coke.
Eventually the flight to Bs.As did leave and arrived only two hours late:D
All I had to do now, was getting through the passport control and find my luggage...in theory.
Practically it took me 45min to actually get passport-checked, another 15 minutes to convince them that I'm really here to learn Spanish and then another 25min to find my suitcase somewhere...(let's just say: just because the sign on the conveyer-belt says "luggage from Sao Paolo" doesnt necessarily mean it is from Sao Paolo:D)
Anyway, I had it and there was even somebody waiting to pick me up. I cannot recall her name, but she said something like "I'm only the driver" (reminds me of some movie😉 ). Her car was a very nice one...just a little bit hard to tell which brand it was, since the original form had been altered "a bit"....Actually, I dont think there was a single part left that had not been dented. Seeing how she made sure that there were always two tires on each side of the white lane-markers, I could kind of imagine why the car looked like it did. Well, good thing she doesnt drive for a living...oh right, she does:D
But we made it without any incidents to my new place for the next 4 weeks: Jorge Newberry 3278 in Buenos Aires (quarter: Belgrano)...
I'm staying with Irma (50+) and her brother Martin who speaks fluently German. Very friendly people who provide shelter, and food at 8.30 a.m. and p.m. (which -by the way - is quite early for Argentina). Additionally they are in for some conversation - if wanted😉
I decided to take a short walk in "my" quarter, took some pictures, went back, ate and fell asleep. The first impression of Bs.As: Very big, interesting atmosphere!

I would love to show you some pictures, but appearantly they are all to big to upload...gotta figure out a way to solve that problem.
Until then
Hasta luego, muchachos

and to make you a bit jealous...have a look at all the neat things i have on the keyboard
ñï¿çªº¡¬

Advertisement



Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0363s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb