Time to say goodbye!!!


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Buenos Aires » Buenos Aires
August 1st 2008
Published: August 12th 2008
Edit Blog Post

1/8/2008
Today I woke up realising that all good things have to come to an end. In my case I am talking about leaving South America! Yeah, it was a bit disappointing to not have travelled to my ideal destination Rosario, due to the fact that our landlord was coming around the usual “sometime” during the day sort of thing, as a result I couldn’t really leave the place, as my other housemates were in another country(Uruguay!!!).

So I ended up spending the morning watching and catching up with all my football(soccer) gossip and friendly matches…BOY! Let me tell you how obsessed and how much I am gonna miss this place. They have like 5 sports channels, at least 3 play soccer non-stop, Yeah im talking about 24-7! So when finally, our landlord came and I got all the paper work sorted, I was so happy that she gave all our deposit back cuz she was generally happy with how we took care of the place(really how I cleaned up the place, cmon lets not beat around the bush I did all the dirty work!) So yeah, that really helped becuz I was so low on cash the deposit was jus great…So much so, that I decided that afternoon to go shopping, downtown!!

So I caught a sub downtown and walked and windowed shopped and finally after thinking about it for a long time, I finally brought myself a nice special edition adidas KAKA’ tracksuit top!

2/8/2008
Finally my last day in Buenos Aires, I woke up with the girls back from Uruguay..after having breakfast and really just cleanin up leftovers from the fridge…I took a walk to get some real breakfast…let me tell u that was one of the hardest things to do..I mean the smell of coffee and empanadas and getting myself a nice milanesa roll and jus lookin around…the whole 5-6wks I really felt I had lived here longer…so much so it was like Mexico, the real distance and uncertainty on when ur comin back and at the same time leaving something really beautiful behind that has grown in ur heart, that was the hardest part and almost brought me into tears!

After finishing my milanesa, I decided to finally give the markets in Recoleta one last visit, becuz it was sort of dropping and not raining heavily, as a result the markets weren’t that lively…but having walked around I decided I have to get a caricature of myself wearing the albiceleste shirt…For me it jus symbolised my passion and my time here in Argentina and the love of the beautiful game…

After that literally we were all just at home reminiscing our time here and how quick and sad it is to leave and really counting the time down…Finally… our landlord who had promised to show up..but was now kind of busy, so we decided by around 4-5ish in the arvo we would leave, becuz get this I had done so much shopping literally comin to Argentina with an empty suitcase, to one where now Im worried I mite be over the weight limit I had to sacrifice a really nice bottle of wine I brought in Mendoza, which was famous for their wine…think of hunter valley but more Winery!!

So I decided what the hell the people in the lobby, the portenos were very friendly so I ended giving it to them and they were so over the moon about it…they arranged to get us a private car to pick us up with one standard fare rather than take a taxi which would be much more expensive!!!

Finally arriving at the airport havin one last look and talking to one of the girls on the ride there, I started to get teary and by the time I got to the airport I secretly let out some tears!!!


On 4/8/2008 I arrived back home in Sydney, Australia boy was it cold!…but yeah it was awesome and sad to be back home….Can’t wait for the next overseas adventure to begin!!! But for the time being it’s back to trying to live a normal life of jugglin uni, studying, working and partying at the same time!!!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0405s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb