Week 3


Advertisement
Published: June 30th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Finally getting around to another post! My usual internet cafe (called a locutorio in Argentina) blocks this website so i had to find a new place. It wasn´t too hard, locutorios are on almost every street. Going into my third week of Spanish class, I´m definitely seeing an improvement! It´s been much easier to communicate with the locals, although it´s pretty impossible to have a real conversation. I never realized how many different words I use on a daily basis until I tried to learn all of them in another language. Other updates: last week I had a new housemate, Julie, a girl visiting from Norway. She has since moved out, but is still in BA. Last week she convinced me to go to Salsa lessons - definitely lots of fun and i´ll be going back this week. Also went to see the Beijing circus on Friday. Shows here are so much cheaper than in the states, i´m trying to take advantage of the affordable entertainment. And on Sunday some classmates and i headed to the suburbs for a fair (they have a lot of weekend fairs here) with traditional arts and crafts, music, dance, food, and caballeros, although i didn´t see any horse shows. The food was soooo good! For lunch we ate a typical Argentine food called locro - it´s a stew with corn and meat and some questionable parts of the animal. I picked out the questionable parts, but overall it was yummy. There was also an abundance of dulce de leche, chocolate, and various other sweets. They loooove their sweets here! And so do I - it´s time to detoxify from the sugar for a few days. Tonight I´m going to a drum show that´s put on every Monday - I have no idea what it´ll be like but will have to write about it next time. This week is packed - tomorrow i´m going to Salsa lessons, and the next night i´m going to a club that people from Spanish school go to every Wednesday. I haven´t been to a club here yet so it should be an interesting experience.

Advertisement



2nd July 2008

Jealously
Sounds like you're having a great time! We miss you and hope you keep having a blast :)
4th July 2008

Yay!!
Glad you have another update, it sounds like you're having such a wonderful time and experience, I'm so happy for you sweetie. Keep living it up, this is such an amazing time in your life. Salsa lessons - I'm so jealous!!!!! :)

Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0573s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb