Day 6


Advertisement
Published: June 17th 2008
Edit Blog Post

The hostel I stayed in was so much fun...met a lot of nice people, mostly Americans, and was able to experience a little Buenos Aires nightlife. However I´m glad that I´m now with my host family. Hostel life, even with a private room, is noisy and not conducive to sleep. I´m staying with a retired couple, Mirtha and Alejandro, in the area of Recoleta. They´re both so sweet, and Mirtha even makes soy patties from scratch! So I´m not forced to eat meat every day. Even though all of the food here, the meat included, is fantastic. Sweets everywhere. Today is my first day of Spanish class and I´m feeling very tired because I had to get up at 7am for the placement test (normal waking time for me, after a quiet night of reading or watching tv, is 10am). Everything seems to happen later here. But luckily, the class I´m in starts at 2pm everyday, so no more worrying about waking up early. Getting back to my host family....last night there was a huge protest outside...not really sure what it was about, I´ll have to look into that. But at 9pm, Mirtha and Alejandro got all bundled up for the cold BA winter air, gathered up some pots and spoons (to make noise), and rushed outside to the streets to join the protest. How many 75 year olds you know would haved joined a noisy street protest like that? Argentines are great.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.053s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb