Glorious meat


Advertisement
Published: June 28th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Dear America,

Please stop feeding corn to your cattle.

Your friend,
Chris



We had an amazing dinner Thursday night at a Parrilla (kind of like a steakhouse, but better) a few short blocks away. Parrillas are an Argentinian staple, and this one was particularly well-reviewed. Seeing as it was only 9:00pm when we sat down, we nearly had the place to ourselves. By the time we left around 11:00, it was hopping, with many large groups filling the tables of this relatively small joint.

For those that don't know, I gave up red meat some time ago for several reasons. Once we booked our trip, however, I started easing myself back into it in preparation for Argentina's famed beef. I was not disapointed...

We sat on the balcony overlooking the main dining room, and our waiter was awesome. He was genuinely amused by our Spanish skills, but it didn't matter because he spoke English anyway. We started off with a truly amazing bottle of Malbec, and Becky & I both ordered steaks. A flank steak for her, a lomo (Argentina's most popular cut, kind of like tenderloin) for me. I cannot speak more highly of grass-fed beef. Completely different texture than any steak I've had before, and it was exquisitely cooked - just the right amount of pink in the center. Throw in the papas fritas and chard on the side, and it was a stellar meal.

No photos yet, but we'll post one of the restaurant exterior sometime soon.

Advertisement



28th June 2008

Enjoying the Blogs
I look forward to this every night. Glad you are having a great time and I am enjoying the commentary.

Tot: 0.102s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 11; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0273s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb