The Final Count Down - Buenos Aires


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Buenos Aires » Buenos Aires
January 21st 2008
Published: February 6th 2008
Edit Blog Post

BUENOS AIRES!!!

Oh my goodness, I absolutely love this city!

Shannon and myself had yet another bus through the night to get there but this bus was only 16 hours ( a walk in the park!) We arrived at our Hostel in San Telmo (Tango District) at 8am but couldn't check in until 2pm (hostels!!! wont miss them one bit!) However we used the time constructively , set down our packs and went awalking in the city. I say in the city but we walked for about 5 hours and only touched on the San Telmo area. This city is HUGE. We quickly realised the best way to get your bearings is to get completely lost and have to find your way out. By the end of the first morning we were already experts in the local area.
We only had three days in Buenos Aires at first as we had already booked a small trip to the coast. So after three nights in a hostel with no air-conditioning, 10 people in a room and literally no water in the taps (lead to a very unflattering incident whilst I was midst hair wash!) we were looking forward to a few days on the beaches.

We packed are small packs, essentials only ... smock and sun block and caught the 5 hour bus for Mar del plata.


We arrived in the hostel in Mar Del Plata and realised its the primary location for everyone in Buenos Aires to spend their holidays. This meant Shannon and I were the only English Speakers in the whole hostel but undeterred , we joined everyone in the hostel for a big dinner on our first night. We ended up having a really good time and it proves you don't have to speak the same language to have fun. With our limited Spanish and everyone else's limited English the "Spanglish" was in full force!

When I first arrived in Argentina and found out that the country was only two hours behind the UK, I though that it was the ideal place to spend my last few weeks as my body clock would be pretty much on the same time...well this theory completely went to hell in Mar Del Plata. ...
We usually ate dinner at about 10 or 11pm headed out to the nightclubs at about about 3am, got in at about 8am and didn't wake up until about 2pm. This appears to be the norm out there and I'm definitely suffering for it now.

Despite being 25yrs old and well and truly over the "nightclubbing hill" (or so it feels) I did manage to stay up two nights on the trot with no sleep at all! Feeling very proud of myself and completely numb I had to check out of our hostel at 10am with serious sleep deprivation symptoms. Anyone that knows me , knows that I can't last long with out some form of nap or 8 hour sleep and so you can imagine, I wasn't looking my best on that third day and my powers of speech had completely gone. The only thought on my mind was to find somewhere that I could lie down and not look to strange, actually that's a lie, I was concerned only with lying down and since we could no longer use the hostel , I (oh so wisely) suggested Shannon and I head to the beach!

After 3 hours of complete unconsciousness on the sand, I woke to find us sprawled out, hair sticking up and completely surrounded by other holiday makers, who were probably trying to work out if we were homeless or just mad. I was immediately aware of a slight tingle on my face but thought nothing of it as I was more concerned with making a sharp exit from the beach and all its glamorous beach goers. However, as I walked back to the hostel I became increasing suspicious as small children cowered from my face and parents tutted disapprovingly! Ok , this is and exaggeration but my face was a mess, apparently 3 hours in the sun with no sun block isn't too good for your eyelids!


Shannon and I headed back to Buenos Aires after a brilliant time at the beach. For the third time this trip I had managed to do some serious damage to myself in the sun (PLEASE WEAR SUN BLOCK!!!) by the time we got to our hostel in BA I couldn't open my eyes, they were purple and the size of grape fruits! This meant at least a day in bed practically drinking aloe vera. However, I was glad to be back in the city and was determined to make the most of my last week.

Buenos Aires, is my favourite city in the world (out of those I have visited) Its got so much character and history, beautiful buildings and people who smile constantly. You can walk down the street and shop in the million antique stores or buy art from the hundreds of local artists whilst being entertained by accordion players on street corners and couples who have decided to dance some Tango in the street. The buildings are falling apart just enough to look romantic and the graffiti on the walls is beautiful. The city centre is modern and friendly, avenida 9 de Julio is impressive in both size and shops, the parks are beautiful and the sun shines all day long! I love it, I love it, I love it!

I always think it best to leave whilst your on a high and Buenos Aires was my favourite part of my whole trip, I could easily live here but for the moment, its time to head home. I feel a little sad about leaving the city and the I can't believe my trip has come to an end but I'm really looking forward to being in my own bed, not sharing a bathroom with 30 other people and seeing my family and friends!

Birmingham, here I come!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0349s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb