Home Sweet Home.


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » West Midlands » Birmingham
February 6th 2008
Published: February 6th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hi Everyone

Well, Here I am, finally back in lovely Brum. Actually I've been home for a couple of days but its been really crazy!

I had a reasonably ok journey home. My flight from BA to New York was 10hr 30 mins and it wasn't the best. I had a seat in the last row and so the wall behind my chair meant I couldn't recline the seat, not too much of a problem for me though and I managed to sleep for about 7 hours in an upright position.
I arrived in New York at 6 :30 am and only had two hours to collect and recheck my Luggage (good old American Airlines!) I was a little worried about making my second flight but I needn't have bothered.... It turns out my flight was cancelled a few months ago and I was moved to a later flight, but as I booked in August I wasn't made aware. To be fair to American Airlines, the lady at the desk was very helpful and the late flight did take the pressure off. I had 8 hours to spend in New York and lucky for me the airline put me up in a hotel for the day. I know what your thinking ...a day in New York , perfect to see the city! This would be good and true if I wasn't absolutely freezing my little bits off in a vest top and a cardigan in -1degree temperature. I had left Buenos Aires in 27degree heat and had only catered for an hour in New York Airport and so the 20mins spent waiting for my transfer to the hotel was bad enough and there was no way I could venture into the city. This didn't bother me to much ...I'll tackle North America another time. I was able to sleep for a few hours, eat and shower before I boarded the final flight home. The second flight was much better and I had my very own little television, steak dinner and no one sitting next to me ( I hate people!). The 6 hours passed very quickly and I began to feel a little nervous about seeing my family again.

I remember waiting at the arrivals door, with my parents, when I was little, waiting for my Aunty to arrive from Ireland, but I've never been the one walking through the doors with people waiting for me on the other side. Its very intimidating walking through the door and seeing the crowds of people in front of you (Deer in the headlights) . Lucky, it only took a split second to spot my Dad and Brother in Law waving like madmen and my sister walking towards me as if her feet were trying to run away from her body! It was so nice and so strange to see such familiar faces. After lots of hugs and possibly a couple of tears (you'd think I'd been away for years!) we headed home.

And here I am now, sat up in my own bed (which I never intend to leave) writing my last blog (apart from the Bolivia one which I have to catch up on!)

I have been fortunate enough to have the most wonderful experiences on the other side of the world.
I've seen numerous cities, eaten weird and wonderful foods, climbed volcanoes, hiked in the Amazon, cleared up after monkeys, swam in the brownest rivers, been caught in a rain storm in the rainforest, been eaten alive by the mosquitoes.
I've seen the Galapagos Islands, swam with the sea lions, strolled on the beaches, flown in a 4 person jet, hiked for four days in the footsteps of the Incas.
I've help looked after the most beautiful children, spent Christmas with people who have nothing and want little.
I've stood on the Salt flats and seen the sky reflected beneath my feet.
I've bussed it, walked it, sailed it and flown.
I've slept in hostels, houses, beeches and boats.
I've been lucky enough to meet the most wonderful people (and few not so great) and share everything I've done with them.
I've been ill only once, sunburned only 3 times and have had nothing stolen at all.

And this is only the tip of the ice berg. I can't say what I like the most I loved the entire trip.


I'm heading to London in two hours to see James , no rest for the wicked, at least I'm a pro at packing and living out of a bag. Hopefully I'll get to see you all soon.

Glad to be home!

Sinead x


Advertisement



6th February 2008

Glad you're back safe!
Hi Sinead you've obviously had a fantastic time, we've loved reading your blogs. Looking forward to seeing you soon as we've missed you. Louisex
7th February 2008

hooray !!!!
yeahhh sinead is home and everything is normal again !!

Tot: 0.088s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0516s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb