Umm, well, errr...


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Buenos Aires » Buenos Aires
January 12th 2008
Published: January 12th 2008
Edit Blog Post

It´s been pointed out to me that it has been a while since I wrote one of these things, so here goes...

Well, what have I been upto?! This and that...

After New Year, I was thinking about going away for a few days before enrolling for classes. Well, I realised that I could enrol a day earlier than I had thought, so decided to wait, and go away for the weekend after I´d enrolled. However, I then got an email from an Icelandic friend saying she´d be coming back to BA from Brazil, so I ended up staying to meet up with her. Doh!

Well, classes (which went well this first week) are Monday - Thursday, so hopefully I´ll get away one or two weekends anyway... It´s quite good because my classes are from 3.30pm - 6pm, so I can enjoy my evenings as much as I want!!! I have two teachers that alternate days. They´re both good, so that´s fine...

So, as for the evenings... After New Year, until Nanna got here I actually gave myself a few quiet, early nights, to let the old body recover a little. Anyway, last Sunday, I met her down in San Telmo, at Plaza Dorrego. During the day on Sunday it´s a big antiques market, but at night they clear it all away and have a big ol´ open-air tango-fest. Great fun to watch everyone dancing away on the crowded dancefloor, whilst sipping down some lovely lovely malbec.

On Monday she took me to an event at Konex. It´s a big cultural centre in a converted derelict oil refinery in Abasto. Or something like that anyway. On Monday nights from 7-10pm (a really weird hour to do something here) they have a big percussion band in, banging away pretty much constantly for 3 hours. It´s a really good atmosphere. After we headed to a random little bar nearby til late....

Tuesday night we ate at El Desnivel. Oh, how I love that place. Some of her local friends came along, one of whom took care of the ordering. We ate a whole lotta cow, most of which I liked, and drank a whole lotta wine. Split the bill when it came, 36 pesos each with tip. That´s less than six quid. Oh yes indeed. After, we headed to ´La Catedral´, a big, famous Tango Milonga. The place was really cool, some af the people dancing were amazing, but it was a little empty due to everyone being on holidays in January, and it being absurdly hot that night. After, there was a performance of traditional music, which was very entertaining.

Wedneday we just went for Indian food in an English style pub. It wasn´t great, but it satisfied certain cravings. Then we went for some quiet drinks in Plaza Serrano. That was interrupted by a massive thunderstorm. The heavens opened, there was lightning everywhere, and people ran for the doors of the bars and crammed in seeking shelter. Our bar had a kinda leaky roof mind....

Thursday I was invited to dinner at one of Nanna´s friends houses. It sounded like fun, but he lives in Quilmes, and by the time they called to tell me how to get there it was already late, and the thought of walking to the subte, taking a tube to constitución train station, and then a train all the way out to Quilmes was a little too much. So I stayed home and did my homework like a good boy.

Then, last night, I met a local freind for a few drinks, then headed to the hostel, met some guys there and went to Sunset. Got home about 8am, just your usual.....

Unfortunately, I´ve really not been using my camera at all, I´ve just been enjoying being here instead, so there´s no pictures to show you at all. One day I plan to take some photos of my local area, just to give an idea, but I keep putting that one off....

Wow, I´ve gibbered on quite a lot now, so I´ll stop, and maybe qrite again soon.... Chau!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.099s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0806s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb