Feliz año a todos!!!


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Buenos Aires » Buenos Aires
January 2nd 2008
Published: January 2nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hope you all had a great time celebrating Christmas and New Year. I sure did.

New Years Eve was good fun, if not the best I ever had. I think it seemed to lack the focus of places like Berlin, Rio and Madrid. Not helped, of course, by the fact that no self respecting Argentine is likely to be out partying when the countdown comes at midnight!!! Most were off having dinner with family or in a vastly over-priced restaurant or some such. As a result, I headed back to the hostel where I´d been staying to join in their asado (cow BBQ), and then around 2am some of us headed off to a random free outdoor dance party in a park in the grounds of the planetarium. It was OK, but a bit of an anti-climax after so many awesome New Years.

Other than that I´ve been going out for lots of nice meals catching up with folk. And considering how long I´ve been here, I´ve been trying to vary my diest a little, which even involved visiting an organic vegetarian restaurant cally Bio, which was actually very nice. Especially the vodka-charged ginger drink they make....

Anyway, last night I went to bed early (i.e. the same day I woke up, as opposed to after 3.30am every single other night), for the first time since I got here. I lay there tossing and turning unable to sleep until about 5am wishing I hadn´t bothered. Ah well, being a glutton for punishment, I´ll try again tonight, as I need to go enrol for classes mañana por la mañana....

Anyway, apart from partying and catching up, I really have done very little. This is a place where I can just go out and wander around aimlessly all day, every day, and ust not get bored. And I think it´s helping me to finally understand just what it is I love about this place. Apart from the low cost, the food and drink, the nightlife, the beautiful women, the expansive parks and the friendly, chatty, cheap, easy to hail, completely non-panamanian taxi (driver)s!!!! It´s the fact that it´s such an awesomely amazing and easy place in which to do absolutely nothing at all in particular. And as you well know, I really do love to do absolutely nothing at all in particular!

So a happy new year to you all, and here´s to a 2008 full of doing exactly that!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.098s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 67; dbt: 0.0729s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb