DAY THREE


Advertisement
Oceans and Seas » Caribbean
February 27th 2011
Published: February 27th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Sail away

My cave is great! First time in an inside cabin and I lucked out with a very large one. I have a wrap around sofa and coffee table. The bed is set up as a queen and there is at least 4 feet of room on each side. This is more room than the average ocean view cabins I’ve been in. There is plenty of closet space, a frig, safe, and ample size desk. It’s aft so I get some motion and I keep the TV tuned to the bow cam and therefore have a view. Right now I’m watching the sunrise as we approach Half Moon Cay. It’s looking like a lovely day.
Yesterday I was invited to a Mariners luncheon on boarding. There I met a couple from NC and three retired teachers from IL. The teachers were enjoying their annual girl trip having been friend since college. I sat next to Pat and discovered that we had already met on the Cruise Critic Roll Call on line.
Our Cruise Critic Meet and Mingle was in the Crow’s Nest at sail away so we all had a great view of leaving Fort Lauderdale. The port was booming with nine vessels moored today including the behemoth Oasis of the Seas. It dwarfs everything else, carries 4,000 passengers and is a city unto itself. The traffic entering the port was like Rt 95 during rush hour in the old days. The short drive from the hotel took almost an hour but once at check in everything went smoothly and I was in my cabin on arrival. We had a good visit, the ship had provided coffee, tea and cookies and then Champaign and Mimosas. The guest services manager was on the Volendam in 2009 and helped arrange for the scattering of Uncle Al and Aunt Betty’s ashes. Such is life on Holland America.
The crowd arranged to meet at the Crow’s Nest each evening at 5 if so inclined. It’s nice to know that I can find interesting folks should I want to.
Dined with Bill and Diane who will be joining me in Curacao for a snorkeling adventure. I rented a car and we’ll split the cost and go off on our own to wherever strikes our fancy. Enjoyed a tasty but light dinner, civiechi (sp), gazpacho and Caesar salad, walked a bit on deck and then played a little Hold “em and walked away $30 richer.
Now it’s time to enjoy my morning coffee and juice, listen to Sitting on the Dock a Bay and other great tunes, shower and go to breakfast. Smoked Salmon, here I come. Then it’s off to see the fishes. Hey Jean and Todd, it's the Stone's Honky Tonk Woman! Life is very fine.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.052s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0349s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 997.9kb