Crossing the Pond - 4


Advertisement
Oceans and Seas » Atlantic
March 23rd 2015
Published: March 23rd 2015
Edit Blog Post

Good morning Breakfast Clubbers, and how ya doing? Probably only one or two of you remembers this radio show. For some reason it popped into my mind.



The string of sea days is reaching an end. We arrive in Funchal, Madeira on 3/25. The sea is choppy today with wind up to 40mph. My good intentions to exercise regularly backfired with a vengeance and now both of my knees are aching. Even Advil doesn't seem to help. I'm hoping that once I'm on terra firma, things will be better. I have too many places to see and things to do to deal with this.



For those playing along a home I have a couple of trivia questions. What body part expands eight times it's normal size when excited? How many days are in the Tour de France?

Which country has the most cattle?



Yesterday was the first sunny day for a while and I rushed to the pool to get a lounge. They had all been cleared away for a poolside sidewalk sale. Bummer. The aft Seaview pool was much too windy for me so I went to the lecture instead. It was all about Sir Francis Drake and quite interesting. The meals have been very good. Last night's blackened seared Ahi was especially tasty. Tonight the singles and solos will be dining together so that should be good fun. Tomorrow, five of us who regularly dine together in the Vista Dining Room will eat at the Pinnacle. Not my favorite venue but I really enjoy the company.



There have been first run movies on board but they are showed in the Screening Room and seating is very limited.



The ship continues to be very cold. I'm wearing my winter tops and carry my Irish wool shawl where ever I go. Seems that by now it would be warmer.



As we get closer to land I am hoping to see some wildlife, birds, and the Atlantic spotted dolphin that are common in these waters.



Hope to have some pictures of pretty flowers and quaint villages to post in a couple of days.



More later.....

Advertisement



Tot: 0.131s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0842s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1013kb