Antarctic Adventure


Advertisement
Oceans and Seas » Atlantic
January 18th 2012
Published: January 20th 2012
Edit Blog Post

DRAKE PASSAGE REVISITED



Well I was right; the passage is rocking as expected. Had a great night’s sleep and am just chilling, so to speak. I spent the morning catching up on my blog, checking out the pictures and listening to the wind howl outside my door. It’s grey and wet out there but since there is virtually nothing to see, I’m just enjoying the ride.

This is just the second real “sea day” of this voyage. All the others were scenic cruising days with lots to see. There are so many things I usually do on board that I haven’t done; team trivia competition is always fun, the piano bar in the evening, just hanging out at the pool.

It’s almost brunch time. Skipped breakfast. Eating in the main dining room for most meals as the Lido is usually too crowded. I am determined to use the aft hot tub before the voyage ends. Since early last evening all the open decks have been closed due to the high winds. Maybe things will calm down later.

Enjoyed the Mariner’s lunch. Tonight I’ve been invited to the Captain’s cocktail party for another picture opportunity. Plan to play in the poker tournament if we have enough players. Other than that it should be a relaxing day at sea.

Sunset occurred while at dinner. The nights are getting longer. The sky was clear and we hoped to see the “green flash”. Instead, a low-lying fog bank moved in and out, adding a magically dimension to an otherwise unimpressive sunset at sea.

Tomorrow, the Falklands.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.315s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 9; qc: 42; dbt: 0.1464s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb