Across the pond 2016 - Sea Days


Advertisement
Oceans and Seas » Atlantic » North Atlantic
April 22nd 2016
Published: April 22nd 2016
Edit Blog Post

Day four dawns to, another cobalt sea with white caps. We have been rocking and rolling since we left Fort Lauderdale and it looks like we have a day or two more. I love being rocked to sleep by Neptune.



We were late leaving Ft. Lauderdale as many passengers were delayed in Houston or Dallas due to the weather. After two 1/2 hours we cleared the breakwater leaving many passengers still in Texas. Those who had booked through HAL will be flown to Florida and then on the the Azores, one week of their vacation gone.



I don't have a head count of the CruiseCritic members who showed up at the Meet and Greet but it had to be close to 150 of the 180 that signed up. I'm glad that is over. Now I can relax.



To that end I treated myself to a Top to Toe massage/facial/scalp treatment today. Other than the high pressure sales pitch at the end it was great. We are at a table for eight, three couples, MaryLu and me. One couple is from New Brunswick, Canada another from CA and HA. The third is from northern Alabama.They are personable but nowhere near the characters that we met on the Australian cruise. They are still the winning table of all time. Still we are all looking to have a good time so the laughs continue.



Played a little Hold'em and was in third place when I made a rookie mistake and was knocked out of the tournament. Thank goodness Joe wasn't there or I would never hear the end of it. MaryLu goes to Bingo each afternoon and gives the slots a whirl. I attended a lecture on the Vikings and read. Have no idea how I missed Pat Conroy's South of Broad. Not looking forward to it ending. I will miss his writing and this is a great example of his storytelling. Will have to re-read Beach Music, Prince of Tides.



So many activities available so little time. Have yet to play trivia or sit by the pool and read. And so the sea day s continue.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.594s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 14; qc: 49; dbt: 0.4082s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb