Leaving it all behind...


Advertisement
Oceania
August 2nd 2014
Published: August 2nd 2014
Edit Blog Post

Gday mates!
This is my last post from Sydney as I'm about to leave it all behind...tomorrow morning (incredibly early) I'm checking out of my hostel and catching a tour bus up to the Blue Mountains. I'm going to be wandering through the rainforest, looking at waterfalls, seeing some lakes and other such exciting things! Oo and possibly holding a koala!! Then when I get back to Sydney, I'll have time for dinner and picking up my backpack and then I'm getting on the night bus (eugh!) I was going to stop at some small towns on the way up to Byron Bay, but I met a man in the tourist office today who helped me to book a tour to Fraser Island, and he convinced me that there's not much to see on the way up and that it would be better to just shoot up to Byron Bay all in one go...let's hope he's right because it's a 12hr bus journey! I am feeling so tired from Sydney (everything seems to be a bit of a mission here, just like London, except everyone else operates at a snail's pace so it's even harder to sort stuff out!!), yes, so tired that I'm not sure exactly what I've booked/paid for, but I think it was all a good price! I've booked that night bus so I won't need accomodation tomorrow, and then I've booked 3 nights in a hostel that the same guy recomended to me, and that's it so far. It's a little bit trickier than I thought it would be to just 'see what happens' as everywhere needs booking/confirming 24hrs in advance (including the bus seats!!) and you never know when or where you're going to get internet! But anyway, I'm booked up until Weds now so let's hope it's all good.
Today I went to Bondi beach, but I didn't see the lifeguards as it is winter and it was bloody freezing - the temperature dropped rapidly yesterday, and because the sun sets around 6pm it gets incredibly cold, incredibly fast! Unfortunately this has given me a cold, as I did not bring any warm clothes, and so I have been sneezing all day! To combat this, I bought a big fleecey hoodie at Bondi that says 'Bondi' on the front, and then wore it out of the shop - this cheered me up greatly and meant I didn't freeze to death on my way home. (To illustrate my point the hostel lady has just come in and turned on the electric heater!)
Apparently it will be a lot warmer the further up the coast I get, and thus I am escaping tomorrow and looking for the sun!
Right, I need to go and pack my case and my dorm room has just filled up with new arrivals, most of whom have gone straight to bed...I think I'm going to disturb them!
Bye everyone!

Advertisement



2nd August 2014

Go find the sun, little one!
Only just found your blogs - I was expecting an email alert, but your big sister has wised me up to it all, so now I am catching up. So glad all the long, long flights went well. Did you get to hold a koala and are you bringing one home for me? I can't believe you didn't pack any cold remedies! Hope you get to sleep on the bus - use your headphones, then you can drift off to music. Enjoy Fraser Island and keep up the blogs. xxx
4th August 2014

Hoodies
I love hoodies

Tot: 0.145s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0478s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb