Down Under


Advertisement
Oceania
July 31st 2014
Published: July 31st 2014
Edit Blog Post

I've made it to Australia, all the way to Sydney! The second flight was a bit less comfortable as I was squeezed in between 3 guys, one of whom was overspilling his seat...but it was ok. I arrived at 7.00am and caught the train to the city centre, then I dropped off my bags and went for a stroll...ended up walking around most of the city (turns out it isn't that big) and getting back to the hostel at 3.00. Was going to go for a nap but thought I could hold out and so am using up my 30mins free internet instead! (It seems the free WiFi is not actually free)
Just to let you all know, my phone won't access hotmail now as it seems to think I have the wrong password, and I can't access Hotmail on these computers either as it doesn't recognise my log-in location?! So I may well lose email contact very shortly! Facebook is still letting me on but I don't know if that will continue, so I'll try to use WhatsApp and this blog (but only when I find a computer!)
I've bagsied my bed in the dorm (top bunk) and there are 5 other beds already in use, but I haven't seen any of the people yet! The hostel seems quiet so not sure if I'll just have to do my own thing for a few days or whether it will liven up later on. There's a roof terrace that I'm about to check out, and I'm going to sit and look at all the brochures I picked up today so that I can make a plan of action!
All sorts of things seem to be a bit awkward here - for example my adapters don't fit the plugs, my padlock is too small for the lockers, the sockets in the room won't hold the plugs in them etc. so I'm just sorting bits out slowly and trying to keep all my electrics safe and charged up. Tomorrow I plan to go to the beach and sleep as I have missed an entire day and am pretty tired! I think I'll be spending limited time in the hostels actually, and more time just out and about, as I'm not really sure what to do when I'm in the hostel!
Right, I'll go and check out the roof terrace - I plan on staying here until Sunday, so you might hear from me again, or if not, the next stop is going to be Newcastle - look it up, I'm going to try and book a cycling tour of the vineyards :0)
Keep replying and commenting, bye all!

Advertisement



Tot: 2.007s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 47; dbt: 0.1063s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb