Sunshine sought...


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Byron Bay
August 5th 2014
Published: August 5th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Here I am again! I am up in Byron Bay now, my last stop before Queensland (I think).

You'll all be pleased to hear that I finally found the sun - hurray!

Byron Bay is a beach town, based entirely around surfing and water sports, and obviously the beach! Today I went for a long walk up to the lighthouse and stood on the most easterly point in Australia. Then I saw a few whales and an entire pod of dolphins below the cliffs, which was pretty exciting! I found a tiny cafe at the very top of the walkway where I had a scone with jam and cream, just to keep up my english-ness. Then I trekked back again, seeing a big lizard thing and a wallaby on the way! I hired a bike to take me to the start of the walkway, so I hopped back on that (well, actually I climbed on as it was way way too big for me - and then I nearly fell off again as I couldn't get my balance!) and then pedalled back home. After that I went to chill on the beach all afternoon and got fish and chips for tea, which I ate on the rocks watching the sun set!

I went out for dinner and drinks with my roommate last night, a girl from Netherlands, which was nice, but she left this morning. I also met a Czech guy on the bus over here, so we went for a walk together yesterday, but I think he leaves in the morning too. There's a newbie in my room now, but so far I've only seen her bag... It's quite difficult to 'bump into' people in the hostel because everyone has their own schedule, but I'm happy just doing my own thing and talking to people out and about. Tonight, for example, I've spent an hour booking my buses and accommodation for the next few days, and now I need a shower before I can go out...but as I've already eaten, and it's chilly, I might just read and go to bed! Not very exciting but hey!

Tomorrow morning I'm not sure what I'll do yet, but I've got a surf lesson booked at 1.00 - I'm a bit nervous but hope it will be good fun! I've been watching some learners today and have picked up a few tips and techniques, so I'm ready to give it a go! I've got tomorrow night booked in this same hostel, and then I'm heading up to Noosa on the early morning bus on Thursday. After a couple of days in Noosa I'll be heading out on my 3day cruise to Fraser island - yippee!

Right, I have 7mins of internet left so I better publish this - don't forget to leave me a comment if you're reading, just so that I know I should continue to write these things! :o)

Hope everything is good at home, and that it isn't too hot (because the evening's are still very cold here!)

Byeee

Advertisement



5th August 2014

Hello Little Surfer Dude
Hello you, its me here. I hope you are seeing my comments because I am reading all your blogs. It sounds as though things are going well and I'm glad you didn't hurt yourself on the bike! Fancy seeing the dolphins - how fantastic, I bet they were really beautiful and graceful. Hold on tight to the surf board, personally I think it is probably much easier if you just lie down on it rather than stand up. Keep us all posted and carry on having FUN. xxx
5th August 2014

All sounds very exciting! Happy surfing!
6th August 2014

whaddup lil sis!!
hey hey! we are reading!!! and apparently your mum is too and commenting they just cant be seen?? so anyway.....keep writing! its great to hear what your up to and for us to reminisce! we stopped for a picnic midway through a ridiculous 12-20 hour (???) drive in Noosa and I can remember wishing we could stay longer! its a surfy town from what I can remember (windy town as far as Mike remembers!) so you'll fit right in with your new narly skills!! will keep this short and sweet as sounds like internet time is ltd! love from us all and the wee ones! take care and keep surfing!!
8th August 2014

Exciting!
Johnno! sounds like you're getting about a bit! When I stayed in Bondi Beach (over ten years ago, eek!) I went to a cheesy nightclub called Cheeky Monkeys - is it still there?? Fraser Island will be fab, make sure you take a running jump down the massive sand dunes
12th August 2014

Typical Hodge...
Hey dude - guess what? Cheeky Monkey's is still there! I didn't actually go but it is the only bar/club that people talk about!! And in other news, I'm afraid to inform you that 'running and jumping' on the sand dunes is now STRICTLY forbidden,,,there are signs up reminding you of such, and the guides really stressed the point. Apparently I young girl had a fatal accident a few years ago and her family sued National Parks, and won... So I'm afraid your advice was not taken.
9th August 2014

As requested
Hello! We both have read your blog and as you wanted to know that people were reading, are now leaving a comment. Nice to know things are well despite the weather (you could have stayed here it's been lovely today though torrential downpours tomorrow to make you feel better!) Good luck with surfing, I once had a go to little success but am sure you will be much better, especially if you've already taken notes! Will look out for futures blogs soon!
10th August 2014

helloooo
hey, sounds like your having a really good time - bar the cold! Definitely keep writing these, I wanna be nosey and know what your up to! :-) enjoy the rest of your trip
11th August 2014

Sun and cruises no fair
Currently I have a headache and am aching from my monthly trip to the gym. Mum says she's commenting on each post but isn't sure she's doing it right. Today we've got someone coming to value the house. Clarkie wNt to move to Bridgford. I'm still waiting on my postcard!

Tot: 0.032s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0147s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb