First week of classes complete!


Advertisement
Oceania
August 11th 2013
Published: August 11th 2013
Edit Blog Post

First week of classes complete! So far they don't seem that much different from classes in the US, just different material and everyone has an accent. I'm rather excited about the classes I am enrolled in, which are Australian Studies, Indigenous Culture and Health, and Doing Social Research. They all seem really interesting and I really like all of my professors.

Aside from going to class, my week has been quite exciting. We bought a package deal on paintball and 30 of us are going to play next weekend. Crazy that I have only been here 2 weeks and already know that many people plus some. Then today my friend Karen and I went to the Aussie Rules footy game which was awesome. They had some free tickets for international students so we jumped on that opportunity, and I'm really glad we did. It was so much fun! I don't know all the rules but it wasn't too difficult to pick up on. For me it's much more exciting than American sports because the play is consistent and they don't stop every 2 minutes to switch players or call a time out and what not. It just keeps going. American crowds are much more rowdy than the Aussies were, but I have never seen more people hats, scarves, jackets, pom poms, and flags in my life. They may not be as rowdy as the Americans but they do not lack in support for their team! Freo won too, which was the team we were routing for. The score was 151-44. Bit of a loss for the other team but made for a great first footy game!

On top of all this, Karen and I are going to Caversham Wildlife Park tomorrow since neither of us have Monday classes. We don't have class on Thursday either, which is awesome, so we're planning on having one of those days be our travel day and the other our study day. We'll see how often the study day actually happens though, hah. We're also in the works of planning a group trip to Bali the first week of September since we don't have classes that week. I'm real excited for that! We have a bunch of other stuff planned too, like going to another wildlife park and doing some stuff in and around the city. These next 5 months here are going to filled with adventure, which is just what I was after! I'll be sure to keep you updated on all of the excitement!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

IMG_20130807_124129_073IMG_20130807_124129_073
IMG_20130807_124129_073

Ran into him on campus!


Tot: 1.764s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0427s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb