ThunderBat and my thumb


Advertisement
Oceania
August 2nd 2006
Published: August 2nd 2006
Edit Blog Post

Napier FishNapier FishNapier Fish

Fish from the aquarium in Napier
Hi!
I just have a little update on what has been going on in my life recently. A week ago my car Thunder Bat's battery died. So last weekend my boyfriend Shaun and I changed the battery and when I say Shaun and I, I mean that Shaun changed the battery and I helped by watching him. So maybe it was karma or something that I, even though I did nothing under the hood, was the one who got hurt. I accidently closed the car door on my thumb. Thankfully my thumb was not broken, unfortunately the force of the door did cut my thumb and it immediatly became swollen and bruised. It has been getting better everyday and I think by Friday it should be back to normal, although maybe a little discolored. In other news, I have not heard back from Park Road Post yet, which of course I am not expecting to this early, but it still makes me a bit anxious. Yesterday I made cornbread from a recipe I found which I am pleased to announce was a glorious success. I also attempted to fry some pieces of chicken, which not only resulted in the full
Mr BojanglesMr BojanglesMr Bojangles

Mr Bojangles the seal from Marineland
engulfment of our flat in smoke, but in the most burnt to a crisp chicken you would ever see. I have learned that the oil was far too hot and my cooking skills far too lacking to undertake such an attempt. However I have lived and learned and from now on will be investing in a thermometer to see how hot the oil actually is before I blindly throw chicken into the vat of smoking boiling oil. That is about it in Emily news so far. I shall of course keep everyone updated on any job related events that happen. Also I am posting some pictures from when my parents were here visiting that I thought you might enjoy. Cheers and thanks for all the good thoughts going towards my job! Emily


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Dad and MBDad and MB
Dad and MB

Dad and Maribeth in the car on our trip
Shaun at WaikiteShaun at Waikite
Shaun at Waikite

Shaun at Waikite Hot pools


2nd August 2006

Thumbs n things
Hi Emily, pity about the thumb - hope it's not too long before it matches your other digits again. Your cooking sure has its ups and downs but you're learning. Besides - how many people have even tried to make cornbread? Keep those culinary skills going! Not much to report, but you would have laughed at Tai trying in vain to catch the moving planes on my screen saver and then checking around the back of the monitor to see where they'd disappeared to. He's one confused little kitten (but growing fast!). Enjoy hearing about your experiences... Luv, Linda

Tot: 0.037s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 22; dbt: 0.019s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1013.1kb