All sorts


Advertisement
Oceania
June 16th 2006
Published: June 17th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Well I kinda got to make this short but I have a few things I need to hit.

Saw the Saint Peters Basilica, the Vatican Museum and the Sistine Chapel. Saint Peters Basilica was AMAZING!! It was just...amazing! You could fit the Statue of Liberty in that church with 90 feet of rooom to spare! And I saw a waxed pope!! EEW! I also climbed the dome and saw the skyline of Rome. I saw the Forum, the place where Julius Ceaser was burned all of that, Palantine Hill I think I said that before though...

Anyhow the thing that is Omnipresent in my mind is something that happened today while I was in the LONGEST line IN MY LIFE!! Anyhow naturally there are going to be people there trying to sell things or in some cases beggers there trying to get money from the people in the crowds.

Anyhow we are used to seeing Beggers lie on the cement with a cup, their arms or hands shaking, its creepy but you get used to it. Sometimes you see a begger with a mutated hand or something showing it off trying to get peoples pity and give them money. They exploit themselves and peoples good nature.

Well today we were in line next to the Vatican waiting to get into the Museum, and I see a begger woman. She is lieing on the ground with a shawl or wrapped on her head hiding her face like beggers normally do. Jocelyne and I were in line and we see her and the line is SLOWLY moving forward, a few feet every minute probably.
***if you have weak stomach you might not want ot read this...***

So we watch her, and suddenly she pulls this shawl thing off of her head. We see a huge gaping open wound. This thing was NASTY. It was ass if someone had cut her scalp off. This wound was bigger than my hand. We were just SHOCKED. It even made me fill ill. Walking past her, you really really didnt want to look but you just kept taking looks at it. She would cover it up for a few seconds, and then expose it again. Nobody NOBODY wanted tos ee this
it made me feel ill. Seriously I would have been a happier person if I had never seen that, it will probably haunt my dreams. So we get around her, then we go by a begger with no legs and only 1 arm. THen we go by a begger with a horribly mutated nasty foot. But those are nothing, I was just glad to get by that nasty begger woman. Then all of a sudden we see a woman ahead of us again. She had moved up in the line. She was showing it off again. I desperatly didnt want to see it again, neither did Jocelyne, she asked me to make sure she didnt look. It was horrific. I really want to block that from my mind....

Anyhow, off to Athens tomorrow!!!




Advertisement



17th June 2006

Holy crap
Holy Crap! Litterally... sorry, I just think it's amazing that you were at Saint Peter's Basiclica. It is the part of your trip I was most looking forword to. There is so much to see, so much history and art. It must be amazing. I can't wait to see your pictures :)
17th June 2006

My mom is an ER nurse and she used to tell me some nasty things. I must be numb to nasty things because that really wasn't so bad. Sure I probably would have freaked had I seen the woman in person, but the description wasn't that bad. Glad you're having a good time!
17th June 2006

Australiasia eh?
I think you've go the wrong location mate...

Tot: 0.241s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 7; qc: 43; dbt: 0.037s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb