Just a little update.


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Lazio » Rome
June 11th 2006
Published: June 11th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Well today is sunday and things are closed so it was just a walk around do what we want day.

We took the metro down to the olympic offices to try and move Jocelynes departure to Cairo date. Couldnt really find the office...might not be there...dunno.

Then we went and looked at some fountains, one of which is something like Trevi Fountain. Really pretty, really touristy.

Then we were walking around and decided to go and just walk by the Colleseum since we are going to go do the tour thing tomorrow.

The Colloseum is AMAZING!! Just the whole area around there all the ruins and whatnot, the forums all of that its amazing. Its sooo old. The funny thing is alot of the Roman buildings are buried. They are underground. There are only really 2 metro lines here, east and west, north and south. The reason for this is that there are Ruins EVERYWHERE buried underground, by making more metro, they are destroying more history. Very interesting. But anyhow the area around the colloseum is AMAZING!! I kept thinking of the movie Gladiator while I walked around there. This hostel has a TV and DVD player and they said they have alot of movies, so I felt like watching Gladiator tonight so I asked them if they had it, and they said they did, but it was watched sooo much they broke it in half and threw it away...

Anyhow we are watching Braveheart right now then. So yea...

So far for sure this will be our schedule:

Monday : Colloseum and surrounding area.

Wednesday : Vatican and surrounding Area.

According to Rick Steves the Pope will show up in his Pope-Mobile and bless stuff, so I figured I'd say hi to him for yall.

Jocelyne Constantly makes fun of me because I really like Rick Steves book and I have his money belt and travel towel, but she likes reading his book too because its really good and simple. So whenever she wants to read his book, I make her ask for it as if it were him lol. She has to say "Can I talk to Rick please??" lol!! I think its hilarious.

Anyhow Im gonna go watch the movie, had a HUGE spaghetti dinner and am STUFFED!!

Well goodbye and if I dont see you later;

Good Aternoon, Good Evening, and Good NIGHT!!!

Advertisement



13th June 2006

The colloseum eh?
I think the Colloseum may be a guy thing...I wasn't that impressed but David certainly was. I could be weird too! Tried to find you online agian, keep missing you. When you go to the vatican, you have to go around the side fo the city through a seperate entrance for the museums and the sistine chapel, they have odd hours so check it out first and make sure you get there in time! also, don't take pictures inside it (under threat of people's camera's being taken and broken- the swiss guards are much more vigilent than the louvre!). Uhm...Rome...getting tired of marble yet? you will be after St Peters! :) Hope you're having a great time, miss ya bud! Come home so we can go go to waterworld soon! Say hi to Jocelyne for me as well, from all of us here at home. Hope you're safe and not getting sick from food or anything...
15th June 2006

We Love You!!!
Wow! What a neat thing(s) to see! Your writing is wonderful, it helps one see it in their minds-eye!!! Glad you're having such a great time but -- the girls and I are on "Shawn" w/drawal! Sure do miss you, Sweetie! All Our Love, Auntie XXOO XXOO P.S. Say "hello" to "J" for us!

Tot: 0.388s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0826s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb