Back at Home


Advertisement
Oceania
April 16th 2010
Published: April 16th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Travelling home was a bit of a challenge! Took me 48 hours and I decided to do it in one stint and for some reason didn't really manage to sleep, so was so glad when I did finally get back. I went Auckland to Sydney with Qantas, waited 7 hours in Sydney then went in Upper Class on Virgin (finally got my upper class upgrade concession) from Sydney to Hong Kong. The flight from Hong Kong was full, but luckily I'd faxed and emailed a jumpseat request to the Captain, so unluckily for me, I was on a jumpseat for 13 hours! Good to not have been left behind though! I finally arrived in London and had to wait five hours for my bus back to Yorkshire. Never mind jetlag, I was so tired I slept right the way through the UK night. Fantastic!

Now it's been a couple of days and I'm not really feeling too tired. I'm enjoying being back, have a lot to do to get myself organised for work, but before I completely forget about the trip as seems to be the feeling already, I wanted to think about my favourite bits and write them down
My RouteMy RouteMy Route

In Australia
here in a final entry. There's no particular order - just as things come into my head.



Sydney Mardi Gras Parade
Dancing to Lady Gaga, George Michael and Kylie, watched by packed crowds through the streets of Sydney.

Swimming with wild Dolphins in Monkey Mia
Just going for a dip in the sea, only to stand in amazement whilst four Dolphins swam with us.

Sleeping in a swag under the stars in the Outback
Watching more stars than I've ever seen in my life and seeing a real shooting star.

Scuba Diving with Turtles in the Great Barrier Reef
Being just feet away from Turtles in the wild who were so comfortable with me being there

Learning to Scuba Dive in Fiji
Exploring a new world under the sea. It's just brilliant and so relaxing

Enjoying luxury Fijian hospitality island hopping with Andrew
Hopping from small island to small island, eating amazing fresh food and chatting to lovely people

Living in Melbourne with Siobhan
Setting up home in St Kilda in a little Studio with Siobhan. Lots of fun times partying and enjoying ourselves

Walking through steaming geothermal landscapes in
My RouteMy RouteMy Route

In Fiji
Rotorua
Felt so weird to see the ground steaming

Wine Tasting on a hot, sunny Autumn afternoon in Ferry landing
My first experience of wine tasting in a lovely little Winery.

30 minute firework show on Australia Day in Perth
The sheer number of people watching was amazing.

Working in Cotton On and Peterpans
Cheap clothes from Cotton On and free beer through the travel agents from local bars. Realised that I can make it anywhere, that I can drop into a new city and sort myself out.

Favourite Australian place - Byron Bay
This to me is what Australia looks like. Lovely chilled out place with nice food, beaches and bars.

Saltwater Crocodiles in the Daintree
Seeing killer crocs out in the wild just metres from the boat. Scared the life out of me.

Wildlife spotting giant Spiders and Snakes in Cape Tribulation
After not seeing much wildlife down south, I was definitely treated to plenty up north!

Trekking the Rainforest at night to find fireflies and glow in the dark Moss
It was like being in the movie Avatar.

Holiday in New Zealand with Ed and the Sugdens
The end
My RouteMy RouteMy Route

In New Zealand
of my trip, which felt like a holiday with old friends.

Finding a killer Redback Spider in Alice Springs
For some reason I really wanted to see one of the dangerous species of Oz

Lady Gaga and Whitney Houston in concert
Seeing two brilliant performers and Gaga on my last night in Oz. Brilliant!

Getting a Southern Cross tattoo after Australia Day in Perth
My Australia souvernir

The rockiest sailing ever in the Whitsundays as Cyclone Ului approached
I loved the stormy conditions

Sleeping on-board the Indian Pacific train for two nights
It's a weird feeling, but having our little cabin was so much fun.

The Gold Coast theme parks
Hot summer days in the middle of the UK winter enjoying some fantastic rollercoasters and rides

Driving a campervan up the East Coast
Tight living quarters and rubbish weather for the first half of the trip, but it was still worth it for the experience. I actually enjoyed driving it, which at first I was scared to death!

Constant drinking for three weeks in Brisbane
Some of the funnest people I've met in the whole trip were in Brisbane

Helicopter ride over the 12 Apostles
Taking off vertically was such a change to the norm, I loved it.

The terror drive to Coral Bay
We saw hundreds of Kangaroos jumping all over the road. I can see why they tell you to not drive at night!

Snorkelling Ningaloo and seeing Sharks, Turtles and Octopus
The wildlife was just amazing.

Meeting amazing people from all over the world
I never thought I'd just talk to anyone in hostel rooms, but that's just the norm and I've met so many nice people.

Travelling with friends and even some who I didn't originally think I would be
Started off with Siobhan and Blair, then Andrew came over and then Ed and family - couldn't have planned it better!

Skydiving Mission Beach
Petrifying, but Jesus Christ, what a rush!

Sailing through Glowworm caves in Waitomo
Unexpectedly impressive.

Driving through stunning scenery in the Coromandel
Mountains and Lakes everywhere



Advertisement



Tot: 0.126s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 22; dbt: 0.1069s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb