Touring New Zealand


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island
April 16th 2010
Published: April 16th 2010
Edit Blog Post

AucklandAucklandAuckland

Eating out
After getting back to Auckland and checking back into Base Hostel, I had about 15 minutes spare to have a shower and change before meeting up with Ed and family. We went for a lovely meal and a few beers before they headed back over to Devenport where they were staying in a B&B. The next morning was an early start, I was on the ferry with Maccy Ds in hand at 08:45! With Ed in the driving seat we all met up in Devenport and set off heading north, destination Bay of Islands.

The drive took a few hours and it was lovely to have a change of pace. We were stopping for Coffees and Cake in nice cafes and sightseeing stops wherever we wanted. I think that the last week ended up being more like a holiday than travelling. Lots of treats, and not a hostel in sight! Seeing as Ed was travelling with family I was fortunate that in each place we stopped, they had room for me in their accommodation. Mostly we drove in like normal, but at one I was lying over the back seats like a stowaway - but it saved me money so
PaihiaPaihiaPaihia

In the Bay of Islands
was more than happy to do it!

On Monday afternoon we arrived into Paihia, in the Bay of Islands. It was a beautiful day and we spent the afternoon wandering the streets and then took a Ferry over to Russell on the opposite side of the bay. Couldn't resist an afternoon pint seeing as the sun was blazing! This became a bit of a pattern having stops to re-energise, be it Coffee, Beer or Pies! Ed was our cook for Monday and we had a lovely Chicken Spaghetti.

We drove a lot on Tuesday, but it was worth it, heading all the way up to the very north of New Zealand, to where the Tasman Sea collides with the Pacific. We had our tourist photos taken in front of the sign that shows just how far away from home you are - we were properly at the other side of the world and London was the furthest destination on the whole signpost. Our plan on the way back was to go see 90 mile beach (apparently it's only 56 miles long but someone thought 90 sounded better?! Go figure!) and then some Kaikura trees (I think that's what
Coffee StopCoffee StopCoffee Stop

with a Carrot Cake. Mmm!
they're called!) We managed the beach which was pretty unspectacular, but interesting to see all the same, just to stand on it and appreciate just how far it goes into the distance. We stopped to re-fuel and much to my concern we ran over a bolt which punctured the tyre (me concerned because until then I didn't know how to change a tyre!) Alan Sugden to the rescue and me and Ed got a lesson in car maintenance at the same time! Although I just pretty much stood and watched and took photos as Ed did all the dirty work! Tea on day two was Fish and Chips. We'd had a long day and by the time we got back to Paihia, we were desperate for food! Think I had a Sausage as well - just couldn't resist!

Next stop we drove down to the Coromandel. Another long day of driving, but completely worth it. The Coromandel Peninsula was without doubt my favourite part of the NZ north island. The scenery is just so much more rugged and untouched, with big mountains literally meeting the turquoise blue sea. After the drive we just wanted to relax so walked to
Cape ReingaCape ReingaCape Reinga

The other side of the world
Coromandel town for a beer stop and volunteered to do tea. Shopping was pretty limited so with noodles, a few veggies, a tin of coconut milk, some chickpeas and a thai sauce mix we had something similar to a veggie Thai dish. I'd also present my best pie award to Coro Pies, the Steak and Mushroom was just amazing!

A little way around the coast was our final stop, Whitianga, or more specifically, Ferry Landing, across the bay - a little ferry hop away, this time literally 2 minutes. Although, it was fairly exclusive in some ways because to drive around the bay took 40 minutes. We stayed in a lovely little B&B overlooking the beach and estuary. I was so pleased to have this amazing little spot for my final two nights of the trip. We stocked up on Beers and Wine and enjoyed drinking them out on the porch watching the sunset before heading over on the little ferry for tea in Whitianga.

Just down from Whitianga we explored Hot Water Beach, where we actually couldn't find any hot water. You're supposed dig down and create a little hot water pool for yourself, but something wasn't
CoromandelCoromandelCoromandel

Beautiful
working and mother nature seemed to have turned the heating off! It was funny though, it's a proper tourist destination and everyone was digging, asking each other if they'd found hot, but no-one did. For the afternoon we took a wander down to Cathedral Cove, another beautiful little spot, a lot of steps down from the top of the hill, but worth it for the view. Apparently they filmed parts of one of the Narnia films here. On the way home we called in at the Ferry Landing winery for some tasting. It was lovely sitting out on a gorgeous sunny afternoon drinking wine overlooking vineyards that sloped down towards the sea.

For our last night we all went out for one last meal, to a restaurant on the waterfront, from which you could actually see our little B&B. The food was absolutely amazing, I had a Sirloin Steak which was cooked to perfection, served with homemade chips and greens. Not that I'd eaten out much, but I would say it was actually the nicest meal I'd had the whole time I'd been away!

My drop-off point for my bus back to Auckland was in a city called
Our B&BOur B&BOur B&B

At Ferry Landing, beautiful!
Hamilton. We arrived after 2.5 hours driving, which gave us plenty of time for one last pie and cake before going our seperate ways! It was sad saying goodbye really, just because it had been so different to the rest of travelling with lots of treats and not having to share rooms and also with familiar people. It really was like a little luxury holiday at the end. I think probably it has prepared me nicely for heading back home, what with being around people from back home and not living the traveller lifestyle.

Well anyway, I arrived into Auckland at 3:30pm, plenty of time for a Dominos Pizza before making arrangements for the flight home. I slept for about 4 hours tossing and turning, probably scared of missing my alarm. And that's it, I'm sitting in Auckland airport ready to begin the journey home. Just as everyone had said, the time seems to have flown by. Imagining going home, it doesn't seem long since I left. I'm excited to see everyone and to start earning some decent cash, but I still can't believe that I'm actually going home and this is the end of the trip. One thing I will say though, it's been one hell of a trip!



Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Wine TastingWine Tasting
Wine Tasting

At Whitianga, Ferry Landing.


Tot: 0.049s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 9; qc: 21; dbt: 0.0264s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb