West side


Advertisement
Oceania
September 23rd 2009
Published: September 23rd 2009
Edit Blog Post

Hi to everyone again… i dooooo apolagize for leaving such a long gap in filling you in in my travels!!!!! It has been some amazing months.. so thought id give you all another run down before I come home!!!!

After having a fantastic send off from Melbourne, from the lovely Lau, Meaghan and Jamie and the hostel guys- I headed west as I had never gone there the last time I was over… I had wanted to do some driving trips, but was afraid I would run out of money (or not find work when I arrived into Cairns, which was my plan- as I loved cairns!) so, I flew! Flew to Perth, where Stef had arrived a few days earlier. We stayed in a hostel in Northbridge, an area just north of the city. The hostel as one of the best! Quite a small one, so the staff were very friendly, great breakfast included, lovely people in the dorms, really had a laugh there. I stayed in Perth for 2 weeks, exploring the city and suburbs, going to Freemantle, which was a nice trendy area by the sea, spotting a jumping dolphin on the way back from the train, kings park- high up the hill- so you get a great view of the city, and rummaging about the shops and bars of the city and Northbridge. I liked Perth, but have to say- coming from Melbourne, got pretty bored some days, as its a lot smaller and I just loved Melbourne so much! I also managed to see my mums cousin who emigrated a million years ago, so that was great too! One day a few of us hired a car and drove down south to do the famous ‘tree top walk’ down in a place called pemberton, then headed home- all in the same day, via Denmark! On the beach front- all in all, a round trip of about 9 hours driving!!

I then flew to Broome, a very small town higher up the west coast, arriving into the airport- which was the size of a bungalow! Hilarious! I stayed in a hostel out of town, nearer cable beach/ which was a ten minute walk away. Gorgeous beach, where the tide goes so far out, you could walk out a very long way. Had a wonder round the town on my second day, which was nice, but so small, it took me about an hour really, so I took my time, stopping off and doing the touristy thing of being snap happy! My last night there, I did a camel ride along the beach! Great fun!

From there, I flew to Darwin for a fun packed week! Stef had left perth before me, to go through the middle to do ayres rock, so we met up again in Darwin, as well as seeing a couple of the guys I was friends with from the hostel in Melbourne, and mine and their other friend Meaghan! So we all arrived into the hostel youth shack, which was a pretty large one, with a pool, and all us girls were put in the same room/ so that was great. The guys took us to Litchfield one of the days/ a huge national park with waterfalls and swimming holes dotted around, so we were all able to get in for a dip in a few spots. Darwin was a fun place- pretty much full of backpackers on the main strip/ full of hostels and irish pubs. Had some great nights out, meals in the hostel, and even completely randomly/ ran into the brother of an old school friend of mine from primary school!!!! Craaaazy!!!! Went to a nice night market too, right on the beach, where theres a great sunset- so popped there for the views! All in all a great west side experience... only wish id seem more......




Additional photos below
Photos: 22, Displayed: 22


Advertisement



Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 42; dbt: 0.0377s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb