Cairns


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Cairns » Cairns City
September 23rd 2009
Published: September 23rd 2009
Edit Blog Post

After a few great weeks of seeing some of the west, on 19th june, I arrived into cairns again!
Staying at caravellas on the esplanade where I stayed with the girls on the last trip here, as the staff was great and friendly. Moved into the huge all girls dorm to start, but got fed up with the mess and noise, so after 2 nights, I managed to move to stefs dorm of only 4 beds! We had a great laugh, both tried to look for work, andre, the guy on reception gave me a tip for a café looking for work, so I called them and started work about a week into my stay! It is a café in a shopping store, that sells furniture too/ villa and hut! Very lucky, as many people were having trouble finding anything! We explored, went to the famous ´woolshed´bar for a complementary free evening meal, with the choises of chilli, spag bol, veg pasta and tomato pasta… mmmmm… .
Took stef to do the great uncle brains day trip again, so much fun visiting the waterfalls, lakes and rivers!!

Took a while for us to get chatting to some of the other hostelers- but after a few weeks here, began to make an absolute fantastic bunch of mates!! Spent my birthday here, had a barbeque down by the local lagoon with the guys from the hostel, then bars in the evening, popping to gilligans for a good boogy!
Stef left to carry on her east coast trip, while I stayed here working, and partying hard! Cairns is a great town, mainly made up for us travelers! Loads of bars to choose from , where theres something going on, theme-wise every single night!
Got chatting to more long termers here, moved into a twin with a lovely girl- Hannah form Canada, where our room was next to our other friends, dave and nikkis, carl in the aquariam dorm, and irish girls sheelagh and Leanne, and boys mitch and james. Spent loads of time with other bunch of guys/ who I just love to pieces, simon -from enfield!!! Craaazy!, matt, stan, alex and Richard. Absolute loves of my life these boys! Had many entertaining nights- the boys dressed as smurfs, painting their entire bodies blue, then us girls another night, dressing as cave women, with animal print costumes and extreeeeemely big hairsprayed hair doo´s!! bloody good fun!
Managed to do a whale spotting trip a few weeks back! Saw a few hump back whales popping up for a view!! Fantastic! I only wish my zoom on my camera was better!!! And saw the only white albino whale in the hole world!!another day trip, a few of us went to the croc farm! Seeing a ton of the things, having a boat trip through croc infested waters- where they were fed, so were jumpng about all around us! Great fun!
Its dying down a lot here now though…. The boys left with Hannah a few weeks ago for their trips, and more and more have left since too.. i´m in my last few weeks here too, then heading to Sydney for the last few weeks of my whole oz experience before heading home!!!!!!




Additional photos below
Photos: 19, Displayed: 19


Advertisement

my boysmy boys
my boys

carl, mitch, dave
girlsgirls
girls

hana and hannah
boysboys
boys

alex, simon and matt


Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0298s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb