Friday May 16th-Day 85


Advertisement
Oceania
May 16th 2008
Published: May 17th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Today I woke up at 6:45. Work was supposed to start at 9:00 with Adrian. I was supposed to take a bus at 7:45 which would get me to work in Gumbee at 8:45. I woke up, had a shower, grabbed breakfast and checked my mail etc. As me and a coworker were going to the bus stop to catch our bus I received a txt from Adrian saying wait till I phone you later. Because of this we headed back to the hostel. I ended up getting a call about work available from AWX but turned it down because I assumed I would still be working. By 9 O'Clock I still had not received a call from Adrian. I sent him a txt asking what was going on for the day. He replied leave it till tomorrow. Because of this I was out of work. I phoned AWX back and ended up getting work in Auchenflower. I started at 9:45 and worked until 3:15. The job was to prepare a foundation so that the floor could be poured. Me and another guy had to move and cut sheets of rebar and then once we had covered the whole floor I had to put these little plastic things called chairs under the rebar about every metre so that it would allow cement beneath and above. That ended up taking the whole day. Once that was completed the foreman, a very Italian guy who somehow combines an Australian accent with an Italian accent gave me a ride back to the hostel.

At night I received a call regarding work tomorrow morning. The job is supposed to start at 6 AM. Even though I had work early in the morning Mike and I went to "Ironman" the movie at 9:30. It didnt end until around 11:30. Should be an interesting day working tomorrow!

Advertisement



Tot: 1.876s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0636s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb