up in the mountains


Advertisement
Oceania
October 23rd 2007
Published: October 23rd 2007
Edit Blog Post

My steps clog to the muddy ground, while drop of rain attached themselves to my eyelashes, and I could no longer see where I was going. I slowly followed Kristin the shadowy figure in front of me, as the coldness of the night numbed all of my fingers.
The short walk ended in front of our new “family’s” home. The house was small, with chipped paint and a roof that seemed very instable. At that moment I was completely out of my comfort zone. I was placed in an unknown situation and I enjoyed the ambiguity of it .What also disturbed me was the fact that our home was better kept then theirs.
With that said meeting my new family was an adventure. I was exhausted, but even still managed to greet my family with a smile. Digna our mama was a 33 year woman that the truth of her time was engraved within the depth of each of her wrinkles. And the product of her life success lied with each of her growing daughter.
We were immediately asked to take a seat, as the girls finished making dinner. Though we offered our assistance it was quickly denied, because supper was almost ready. All three girls politely took a seat, and did not touch their food until mama gave the word that it was ok to begin to eat Because this was a new situation for all of us, we all did what the girls did, and quietly waited for permission. During dinner we asked the girls some questions, and they quickly giggled, and nervously played with their hair avoiding eye contact they also avoided the question. It was normal for me for young girls to avoid answering questions, simply because I could see they were shy and needed to warm up to us first.
Mama explained some of the cultural norms the community has. The women dress with white embroiders shirts, and long black skirts, with gold beaded necklaces. The men, when not at work should dress in white pants and a poncho. According to mama’s story their traditions seem to slowly be fading. She told us that many of their young children do not want to wear the tradition clothes. And during big community parties, it was normal to spend a few days preparing a corn drink, which now is not normally done, because many people bring sodas and beers.
During the following day we all went to one of the community houses to pick potatoes. The rain was pouring down on us, and so we only managed to pick for a few minutes. When we got back in the van mama had brought back worms, because she likes to eat them .Apparently, those worms are very good for you if you have a cold because they’ll take it away.


Advertisement



26th October 2007

still pregnant
Hi Nana: Well, here I am super duper big, still pregnant and ready to have this baby. I am 37 weeks on Monday...We'll see hopefully she does not go to much longer. I was 1 cm dilated last week, but according to the doctor it could still be weeks before our big mama makes her day view. OO well. We are going to deliver at Winnie Palmer... I wish you were here to you could see her birth. OO well.. Perhaps someday, I will get to see yours. Well, I love your story.. did you ever try the worm? Mami says hi, she misses you and loves you lots and so do we.
27th October 2007

ya eres tia!!!!!!!!!!!!
Pepita era para contarte que ya eres tia,Katherine nacio hoy Octubre 26 a las 5:35 pm,peso 8 libras y midio 20 y 1/2 pulgadas. Naty rompio fuente a las 9 am ,la niña esta muy saludable,cachetona y con una papada muy grande. Manana ire a verla ya que no le han asignado un cuarto a Naty. Bueno muchas felicidades y te quiero y te extraño mucho
28th October 2007

hi!
hey vieja, hope life is good! where was that at? well i hope to hear more from u!

Tot: 0.124s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.102s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1008.5kb