The Sunshine Returns


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Wanaka
March 20th 2013
Published: March 26th 2013
Edit Blog Post

The abundance of food and lack of exercise has started to get to me now, and this morning I take one of the mountain bikes which are at the house along the track which runs around the lake.

This started off as a nice easy route, but soon turns into a track featuring sharp narrow downhill sections with boulders and tight corners and similarly steep uphill’s. It’s been a while since I have been mountain biking which shows by how tiring it is….slightly worrying! However the views are more than worth the sweat and panting it takes to reach the end. The morning mist is starting to burn off the lake, revealing the crystal blue waters beneath which are framed by the surrounding dramatic hillsides and snow-capped mountains.

I am back by lunch and after a quick lunch of the remainder of the soup, we clean the house as Dick, who owns the house is flying in this afternoon from his permanent house in Christchurch. It turns out Dick is a sprightly 75 year old who loves to fly his aeroplane, mountain bike and sail his yacht. Ana knows Dick from sever years ago she crewed for him and his family for six months on their yacht sailing around the med.

When Dick arrives we plan the next few days, as previously on hearing I was going to mount cook, he had decided that all of us would go to Mount Cook. Dick started up Alvis (1930) one of his beautiful open topped old cars and we drive into Wanaka in STYLE to the supermarket. We all stock up on food for the next few days adventures and then head back and enjoy a perno in the garden lapping up the late afternoon sunshine.

After dinner that Ana and I whip up I hear that Claire and Jordon have just arrived to Wanaka! Dick persuades me it’s not a problem for me drive the 4x4 Ana has been driving to go into town and meet them. It’s quite an experience to drive, but great fun, and it only takes a few minutes to get into town. I have a great time catching up with Claire and Jordon though I am rather envious hearing their days adventures, as they have been canyoning – climbing, abseiling, zip wiring and jumping into waterfalls. I have wanted to go in both Queenstown and here in Wanaka, but it is so expensive - like all the activities here in New Zealand, that on this occasion I have had to refrain. After having a great time catching up with them I head back and pack my bag ready for tomorrow.


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement



Tot: 0.158s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0925s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb