I am hiker


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Te Anau
February 25th 2007
Published: February 27th 2007
Edit Blog Post

If Arthur's pass was still to hard for me, I felt I was tagging along on something bigger than me, and the Heaphy too mild, just no "wow", now I finally feel I'm really hiking. We did the Kepler in 3 days as a classic hike: Day one - the setup. Just walking around lake Te-Anau and then steadily climbing through the forest to reach the tree line and the first hut. By the way, huge huts with gas, solar power, local ranger and 50 beds. The bunk room made me think Oliver Twist. Day two - the highlight. Not too demanding walk on an exposed ridge line with magnificent views, which we did quite slowly as the weather was perfect, ending with a rather steep descend back to the forests, sand flies and the second hut. Day three - the getaway. Mostly boring walk through forests along a stream, with some nice views of lake Manapouri near the third hut and then quickly getting out. By 15 o'clock we were already on the shuttle bus back to town. But the second day was worth all the rest. There is nothing quite like walking all day seeing only mountains, valleys, lakes and fiords. See for yourself.



Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



Tot: 0.175s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 13; qc: 75; dbt: 0.0768s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb