Queenstown WOO WOO


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Queenstown
April 2nd 2006
Published: April 2nd 2006
Edit Blog Post

LlamasLlamasLlamas

Nearly forgot, I threw an apple to one of these Llamas, and it ate it whole, within 2 minutes it was laying on the floor on its side, so I might very well have killed a Llama in Old Macs Farm, I dont know, we ran off, it was gone 20 minutes later though. Woops.
Hi guys, its been a while, I think, I dont really have any concept of time any more though, that happens really quickly here. Well, I headed over to Old Macdonalds Farm in the Abel Tasman national park about 2 weeks back, and Ste, Tom and myself went for a three day walk around the coast, though we couldnt get 2 nights accomodation in the huts, so we had to do the whole thing in 2 days, I was shattered! But it was really good, beautiful beaches, and nobody about as you have to walk for days to get to them!
We moved on to Barrytown, aka Barry-no-town after that, where I unfortunately got hammered, its all there is to do really, but this time I woke up with no hair! I was paid $60 by two guys in my room to get a mohawk shaved in by a local sheep shearer, and it seemed like a really good idea at the time, but when I woke up, I realised that I was infact very very wrong.
I got the rest shaved off a day later, and now have to put sun cream on my head, its growing back fast though,
MohawkMohawkMohawk

Here you go guys, this is me with my stupid head - Im glad to say Im the only one in this photo that got paid to do it! and its grown back quite well!
and doesnt look too bad now - I'll get some photos on here soon.

A couple of days later I went to the Franz Joseph glacier and did a day of Ice Climbing, it was 200 bucks, but it was definately worth it, so much fun, and I even fell on an overhang, I was hanging by the wrist strap on the ice axe, so cool, especially when it gave way - and that was the only time I fell all day, everyone else was off the wall loads of times.
We finished up with a 40 metre climb up a new section of glacier they havent used before, and I was one of only two people who made it to the top, it was really tiring though, and I had to step across the inside of a ravine half way up, scary shit I can tell you, even on a rope.

We then had a few days in Wanaka, off the track a bit, but a really cool little town with the best cinema ever! You sit on sofas and they even have an old morris minor to make it feel like a drive in, they do
Ice ClimbingIce ClimbingIce Climbing

This is me ice climbing, you see the bit where the rope changes direction, well the other side of that little bit of ice was a bloody big cravass (?) which i nearly fell down, nice of the guide to tell me, infact he took this picture, why wasnt he at the other end of the rope?????
a little intro to the film, and the owner does a bit of stand up comedy for 10 minutes, and they have an intermission with hot cookies, really relaxing night after so much drinking and activity. We saw The Worlds Fastest Indian - I recomend it, its pretty funny stuff.

The next day we hired mountain bikes, and went around the hills of Wanaka on full on tracks, we only went for the green, blue and one red run though, as I didnt really want to break my leg or anything! We headed down a black run at one point, mainly because Ste cannot read a map to save his life, seriously, those of you who think I am bad, this guy cant read what is essentially a map of ski routes, when there are bloody sign posts at the start of every run! We headed down it, practically vertical, but stopped the second a huge rock appeared in the middle of the track, really cool though, but I dont think Im gonna be doing it again any time soon, as to go down a run, you first have to ride all the way up the bloody thing!
Up Ship CreekUp Ship CreekUp Ship Creek

Sunset in Ship Creek - we didnt have a paddle

Im in Queenstown now, the adventure sport capital of the world, and I havent done anything dangerous! Its great here though, and we've already met some of the locals, so Im now thinking of flying back here for some snowboarding and to work in a hostel after I go to Oz, will probably add 2 months to my trip, but I'll have to see how the money goes.

Well I'm off to Milford Sound tomorrow, whatever the hell that is, and then the south south south of new zealand, Ill get another update on here before I head to oz in a few weeks, and Ill try to find some pictures of my stupid head for you.

Hope everyone is cool and having fun doing what ever you're doing, Ill try to get on msn soon when its day time in England, and see how your all doing.

In the words of Rob, mmmmph! ...sorry Rob


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

TomTom
Tom

This is Tom that Ive been travelling with for the last month, the only guy I know that can sleep like this in a tv room when he's totally sober...
Last night out in QueenstownLast night out in Queenstown
Last night out in Queenstown

Heres one of our last nights out in Queenstown, before everyone went their seperate ways... Me, Ste, Ciara, Tom, Orla, Chris, Lin, and Celine


2nd April 2006

dude. get pictures of your mohawk up, you gotta show.
14th April 2006

Guday dude sounds like your having a good one. Just come back from the alps been doing the crazy ice climbing thing too although kinda self taught so probably a fair bit less safe!Highlights also included sleeping in a big bed with 50 snoring blokes (don't ask) and getting stupidly lost in a blizzard. Oh yeh my ice climbing antics were also made hugely more edgey by a distinct lack of ice screws (5 really shit already gone rusty ones and one we found). Anyway bud i got to sleep as haven't slept for 36 hours. Drop me an email sometime.

Tot: 0.084s; Tpl: 0.02s; cc: 10; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0494s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb