Westcoast


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Picton
April 12th 2010
Published: April 13th 2010
Edit Blog Post

As I am leaving NZ soon i have to get north to Auckland. A last party in Queenstown before i started to travel north along the westcoast. After 2 hrs sleep and a scenic drive over the Hast pass my first stop was in Franz Jospef glacier. I did a nice daywalk there the next day and hitch hiked to Fox glacier. Really nice weather btw (on one of the wettest coast on the planet)

The next stop was already Westport. We did stop at the Pancakes rocks so, which were worth seeing. As that was a long drive I couldn't really do anything with the rest of the day so I just done some sport. The following day I borrowed a bike from the hostel and cycled 20km to Cape Foulwind, where a seal colony. The area here is quite like some parts of OZ so I am glad i decided to spend more time in Fiordland and not here.

My next bus took me to Nelson. I didn't leave till 3.30pm though, so the day was a bit ruined. Anyway me and some other people from the hostel just went down to the beach and killed the time there. Picton is a nice little town, located in the Marlborough Sounds. I went for a half day walk which was really nice and i stayed in one of the best hostels so far. Really good, clean, lots of free stuff and so on. Today i took the ferry to Wellington which took 4 hrs so i couldnt do much with the rest of the day. I was one week left here on the north island now before i go to asia...


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



Tot: 0.085s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0593s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb