Kepler track and Milford Sound


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Queenstown
April 5th 2010
Published: April 6th 2010
Edit Blog Post

After a great time in Wanaka I took a bus down to Queenstown. The global extrem sport capital, wherever you go bungi, skydiving, etc, and party. It is easy to spend a lot of money here. Anyway I didn’t want to spend a lot so I didn’t do anything of this crazy stuff (even if I would really like to) and just went for some parting...

After one nice day in Queenstown with freezbee golf and just chilling out I hitch-hiked to Glenorchy the next day. Some of Lord of the Rings stuff was filmed there and I did a nice day walk..

At the 30th I left Queenstown and went to Te Anau. Te Anau is south-west of Queenstown and starting point for some of the nicest walks in NZ (so in the world) it is on the edge of Fiordland national park (which has world heritage status). I went down here to do the 67km Kepler track in 4 days. I started the track at the on the 1st of april and the weather was horrible but I got to the first hut really early. The weather forcast for the next day was even worse so I decided I would walk straight further to the second hut. So I did more than 40km with nearly 2000m of hight at the first day (in heavy rain), so I was just wet and tired when I finally arrived at the hut. I didn’t see much of the alpine part as it was just raining. Anyway I had quite a short 2nd day (about 20km) and I stayed my second night at the 3rd hut. As the weather forcast for sunday was pretty good I decided not to walk out. I finised the tracked and walked straight back up to the 1st hut (so another day with nearly 40km). That day the wind was very strong and icy so the way up from the lake (280m) to the Luxmore hut (1300m) was just horrible and very demanding. Anyway I got there and the weather the next morning wasn’t perfect but it was way better than before so I went about 2,5 hrs over the top of the mountains till I turned around and walked back out (another day with a lot of kms). As I got to the hostel in Te Anaua I could hardly walk as my legs were so painfull but it was worth it and even with the bad weather it was an amazing walk.

Today I went to Milford Sounds and did a 2 hr boat tour there. It was just incredeble, well look at the photos, just really really nice...



Additional photos below
Photos: 33, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.085s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0572s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb