First day of "work"


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Picton
October 15th 2009
Published: October 27th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I woke up and grabbed some free breakfast (toast, jam and cereal) and waited until 10 am to start my new ‘job”. Peter is the owner of the hostel and gives each of us certain jobs to do that day. I was on odd jobs for my first day. Since there was a lot of people leaving I helped Audrey with making beds. We have to strip the beds first of their old bedding and then put the new stuff on. Pretty simple. Audrey is from Paris, France and has a cute french accent.

After I made the beds I vacuumed some of the rooms and the common areas. After that I had to go around all the rooms and wipe the dust off all the base boards. That part wasn’t so much fun. After we all finished we got some cookies for our hard work. I walked over to the supermarket after that to get some supplies.

I met 2 new girls who would be starting to work with us starting tomorrow from Germany. Patricia and Carolin. Super nice girls. I hung out with them and Audrey that night.

Oh ya, I’m working at a place called Sequoia Lodge in Picton, New Zealand. You can google it and see some pictures and info about the hostel if you want. It’s a really nice place, fairly small. There is a HUGE sequoia tree across the street from the hostel which is where the name comes from.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.207s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 13; qc: 69; dbt: 0.1158s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb