Picton Arrival


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Picton
February 14th 2008
Published: March 1st 2008
Edit Blog Post

Upon arrival in Picton, which is I believe the smallest town I visited in New Zealand, I did a quick charge around town to get the lay of the land. Here are some photos from that excursion.

By the way, I was supposed to stay in a NZD $115.00/night studio in the Aldan Lodge, but they didn't have any studios available when I arrived, so I got a nice upgrade for free to a 5 bed, two level unit with a circular (but quaint) staircase to the upper level loft. Pretty nice digs for me I must say.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Kaitaki in distance from Picton ForeshoreKaitaki in distance from Picton Foreshore
Kaitaki in distance from Picton Foreshore

That was my ride over from Wellington.
Picton ForeshorePicton Foreshore
Picton Foreshore

Beautiful palm trees.
Picton ForeshorePicton Foreshore
Picton Foreshore

Duely noted.
Flying HaggisFlying Haggis
Flying Haggis

I never made it into the Flying Haggis unfortunately, as appealing as it may sound.
Dog and FrogDog and Frog
Dog and Frog

An unlikely couple.
Toot'n Whistle InnToot'n Whistle Inn
Toot'n Whistle Inn

The railroad tracks are directly behind this place, hence the name.
Seumus'sSeumus's
Seumus's

A good ole Irish bar there laddie. A good Irish Coffee in there, but not worth NZD $12.00 I didn't think. In any case, in this place, shoes are optional, but blue collar talk is not. Tell 'em about your day, have a Guiness. You can belly up to the bar or not, no shoes, no problem. I went with shoes.


Tot: 0.091s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0589s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb