New Zealand - Marlborough Sound


Advertisement
Published: November 23rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Queen Charlotte Track


This is an easy 3-5-day hike with stunning Marlborough Sounds views. It's located at the top of New Zealand's South Island, near the harbour where the ferry comes in from the north island. I took a small taxi boat to the end of the track and hiked back toward the harbour.

Besides the views, the best part was that I didn't have to carry food or luggage. There are several lodges along the track with restaurants and little shops, and the taxi boat transferred my luggage from point to point for me each day! They make it so easy for you to hike here in New Zealand...


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

I departed from the harbor in Picton by taxi boat...I departed from the harbor in Picton by taxi boat...
I departed from the harbor in Picton by taxi boat...

... which took me to the end of the track at Ship Cove. I hiked back toward the trailhead from there (71 km or 44 miles total).
The begining of my 4-day hikeThe begining of my 4-day hike
The begining of my 4-day hike

I stayed in lodges at night along the way, and the taxi boat transferred my luggage each day for me! Now this is my kind of hiking...
The water color was a brilliant turqoise. It almost looked tropical...The water color was a brilliant turqoise. It almost looked tropical...
The water color was a brilliant turqoise. It almost looked tropical...

...but it was cold enough that I needed a jacket the entire 4 days.


24th November 2008

WOW - great photos Laura!
Looks like you're adventure is amazing! Even if it's chilly you've had some beautiful days and taken some wonderful photos. Where to next?
24th November 2008

Great photos; told you NZ was great! Better than Tas?
24th November 2008

On par with Tas! Great to hear from you :-)
30th November 2008

Stunning
The scenery is just stunning. It must require deep breathing just to take it all in. It is now a part of you and you have given the gift to me too. I wish you well on you journey Laura. You are just a thought away.

Tot: 0.22s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 13; qc: 59; dbt: 0.1063s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb