New Zealand - Golden Bay and the Abel Tasman Track


Advertisement
Published: November 15th 2008
Edit Blog Post

The South Island of New Zealand...



I flew from Auckland on the North Island to Nelson on the South Island. Nelson is located in the top section of the South Island. It's a center for arts and crafts, and a great base for hiking the famous Abel Tasman Track. Heather and George were kind enough to pick me up at the airport and host me at their house for a week. George's son, Nigel is married to my college friend, Marjie. Heather introduced me to "white bait" fritters, a delicacy in New Zealand and homemade "pavlova" for dessert. George is an expert on the tracks in the area, and helped me plan my hikes. They also took me sightseeing over to Golden Bay (known for its golden sandy beaches) and Pupu Springs (one of the largest fresh water springs in the world).

I wanted to experience the Abel Tasman Coast Track, so I decided to do a day-hike. I took a water taxi to Anchorage Bay and walked back to the trailhead at Marahou. The trail was mostly flat, and followed the coastline with access to pristine beach coves along the way. Many people kayak and camp along the track as well. Here are just a few of my photos from the track...


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

Split Apple RockSplit Apple Rock
Split Apple Rock

As seen from the taxi boat
Abel Tasman National ParkAbel Tasman National Park
Abel Tasman National Park

The Abel Tasman Track is known as one of the most popular tracks in New Zealand, due to its beach access. Many people also choose to kyak along the coast and stay in the campsites along the way.
Pupu SpringsPupu Springs
Pupu Springs

The 2nd largest freshwater springs in the world. We could see bubbling at the surface coming up from the bottom of the crystal clear pool.
Heather & GeorgeHeather & George
Heather & George

My hosts from Nelson are the in-laws of my friend, Marjie, who married a Kiwi and lives in the US. It was like home-away-from-home!
White bait (tiny fish)White bait (tiny fish)
White bait (tiny fish)

Caught by George in the local rivers. White bait is a delicacy in New Zealand, and sells for up to $60 per kilo. Heather made whitebait fritters for lunch when I arrived!
Homemade "pavlova" for dessertHomemade "pavlova" for dessert
Homemade "pavlova" for dessert

Heather also made Pavlova, the official dessert of New Zealand... yum!


15th November 2008

Wonderful pictures!
I really wish we went to Abel Tasman when we were there - I'm so glad you went! Dave and I will have to go back. :-) It looks gorgeous.
15th November 2008

amazing
Laura, What an amazing adventure. Beats the hell out of my drinking around the world tour at Epcot. your cousin, Joe

Tot: 0.198s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 12; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0668s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb