New Zealand - West Coast & Glaciers


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Hokitika
November 11th 2008
Published: November 24th 2008
Edit Blog Post

The West Coast District of the South Island Packs in Variety, from Rugged Coastlines to Mountain Glaciers



In one day, was able to walk through a dense rain forest, sit on a deserted ocean beach, and peer up at a mountain glacier in the Southern Alps! Here is a sampling of my time on the West Coast...



Additional photos below
Photos: 20, Displayed: 20


Advertisement

Pancake Rocks at PunakaikiPancake Rocks at Punakaiki
Pancake Rocks at Punakaiki

The famous Pancake Rocks are limestone formations carved by wind and sea over 30 million years ago.
The Putai LookoutThe Putai Lookout
The Putai Lookout

I was hoping to see the famous blow hole behind me that shows best during high tide and in rough weather. I came back at high tide, but no show while I was there. The one time I wanted stormy weather...
Beach at the end of Truman TrackBeach at the end of Truman Track
Beach at the end of Truman Track

A 15-minute walk through rain forest ended at this beautiful beach.
Pororari Gorge WalkPororari Gorge Walk
Pororari Gorge Walk

This track follows the Pororari river up a scenic gorge.
Coastal view on my drive between Greymouth and HokitikaCoastal view on my drive between Greymouth and Hokitika
Coastal view on my drive between Greymouth and Hokitika

The weather here changes by the minute
The coastal road winds its way inland for awhileThe coastal road winds its way inland for awhile
The coastal road winds its way inland for awhile

This is pasture land between the mountains and the Tasman Sea.
Not much farther, I was at Fox GlacierNot much farther, I was at Fox Glacier
Not much farther, I was at Fox Glacier

Fox Glacier comes closer to to sea level than any other temperate region glacier in the world.
Close-upClose-up
Close-up

You can drive to the glacier parking lot 8km from the town of Fox Glacier, and walk to the foot of the glacier in around 30 minutes! Can you see the hikers at the bottom of the photo?


25th November 2008

Fantastic photos!
Wow - how incredibly beautiful. Thanks for inspiring me for a trip in the future, wish we could just go now!

Tot: 0.195s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 13; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0746s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb