Christchurch to Kaikoura to Picton


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Kaikoura
February 14th 2011
Published: February 14th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Aussi couple Aussi couple Aussi couple

Eating lobster at Nin's Bin
Thursday Feb 10th
"Of all the things about me that could frighten you, you worry about my driving? Unknown

Well actually over here one might worry about my driving. Driving on the left can be a little bit of a challenge. Having done it for a month two years ago I was pleasantly surprised how quickly it came back. There is a big “Keep Left” sticker on the dash of the rent a car so that helps. I only had one momentary lapse, but it was out in the middle of nowhere after I had pulled over to take a picture. I corrected within 50 ft. I got under way about 11:00 leaving Christchurch without getting lost. It is one of those places where I would swear I’m driving north and I’m driving south. Up the highway toward Kaikoura I stopped for lunch at the Blue Moon Pub as advised by my friend Ron. Excellent frittata and a flat white. Arriving in Kaikoura mid afternoon, I am still a little tired from the trip so I just cruse town and then set on the very rocky beach and read. Around 5:00 I decided to take a drive up the coast in search of some wild life. That would be the sea going type. Came upon Nin’s Bin, a world famous in New Zealand* roadside stand that specializes in fresh seafood. I love mussels, so I ordered a dozen. The girl took them fresh out of the fridge and steamed them in white wine while I waited. Look at the pics. These babies were as big as my thumb! Ate at a picnic table and had a nice conversation with an Aussie couple on holiday. Back to town, checked into the motel. Speaking of driving, as I unloaded my car, a couple, looked like mother and son, got into their car next to me and proceeded to run squarely into a concrete island, with a large tree in it, that divided the entry and exit to the motel. I must admit it was all very comical to me, as they backed up, stopped and then took turns looking at the damage. Then the manager came out and gave his 2 cents worth. It went on so long I got tired of watching.

*”World Famous in New Zealand” is a tongue in cheek phrase commonly used here for something or place well known here but not outside the country.

2:45 AM Friday. Well, I don’t know if this is jet lag or time warp. I woke at 11:30 after about 4 hours of sleep. Having looked at my watch upside down I thought it was 5:00 AM and since I couldn’t go back to sleep decided to get up. I took a shower and was preparing to dress when I looked at my watch again and saw that it was now really mid-night. So I climb back in bed and sort of sleep for another two and a half hours. Wide awake again…I guess I’ll read for a while.
Since Friday was pretty uneventful I’ll tag it on here. Drove up the east coast to Picton. This is the ferry port for the ferries from Wellington (NI) across Cook Straight. I met up with my friend Ron Laughlin and his wife Paula Martin, who live here and spent the day catching up.



Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Lunch stopLunch stop
Lunch stop

As you can see my rent a car is a vintage model


Tot: 0.084s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 42; dbt: 0.0433s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb