Bob!


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Kaikoura
April 14th 2009
Published: April 17th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Up nice and early and off walking in the sunshine to Bob's Bay - didn't see Bob though... but did see a guy in full oldfashioned army gear who had been on training that weekend for a trip of brits and kiwis through the desert for some reason... maybe it will be on TV - let me know...

Then cake and car to pick up - oops! Automatic... but Ruth gave me a quick refresher and all was good. Then she put me on the road to Kaikoura which should take abotu 2.15 hours..

But the scenery was amazing - sheer cliffs into the sea and I took a bit longer. I stopped to eat at a place called The Store - which had the most amazing views and a really good steak and kidney pie too!!

Bluddy radio was a pain due to the cliffs - could only keep a channel for about 2 songs... booo!!

Finally got to Kaikoura about 3.45 and headed straight out to do the penninsula walk as I didn't want it to get dark on me. It was supposed to be 2 hours - HA! I had to walk at a fair trot and it was a good 3 hours! But well worth the views and I even got to see seals, though from quite a distance...

It got dark towards the end but I planned it so I was back on the main road by then. By the time I got back I was sooooo dead - I just went to the shop for food and pretty much passed out in the tiny hostel room.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.101s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0568s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb